Braving The Cold For Great Fishing Memories

in #myhuntingfishing6 years ago (edited)

We have had some cold spring weather (for these parts) with the possibility of snow being forecast over the last week.

We get very little snow here in the Mid-Willamette valley but we do get lots of cold rain, which in some ways can be more miserable than snow at lower temperatures.

With highs in the lower 40s and the possibility of rain I wasn't sure if I wanted to take the boy out fishing this weekend.

I know many of you will laugh because you get out and brave whatever weather mother nature can throw at you for a chance at some tight lines and some fresh fish for the pan.

As I sat on the couch in my warm house reading the fishing posts on Steemit I determined I was going to get out and catch some fish! I was going to seize the day! I knew I would be glad I did.

I did a little research by reading the latest fishing report and checked the trout stocking schedule for the local bodies of water.

In no time I selected a location nerby. It's the same place we went a couple weeks ago.

0324181455.jpgThe biggest fish of the day. Not huge by any means but the photo doesn't do it justice. It was about 13 inches. Yep, he caught the biggest fish of the day!

0324181306a.jpgThis one was a bit smaller. But it's in the net. The net is mandatory for all fish landings. My son's rule, haha.

0324181348_HDR.jpgHe always wants to touch the fish. He gladly posed for this photo.

0324181229b.jpgThe fishing was fairly slow with a little better than one fish every hour. We were out for about three and a half hours and caught four fish.

That's 400% better results than our last trip!

He caught two and I caught two. Both of my fish came to Woolly Worms on my fly rod, hitting the fly just feet from the bank.

0324181535_HDR.jpgThe weather actually turned out all right. We dressed warmly and it rained very little so we stayed quite comfortable.

It started getting colder about the time we were ready to leave. As I was gathering up the gear he was up on the bank waiting for me, haha.

It was nice to not have him crying because he didn't want to leave like he usually does. He was actually glad to make the walk back to the car and head home. I guess I can thank the weather for that.

Great fishing memories!

0315181820.jpgAnd great food!

Sort:  

Great Post! I'm glad to see you made it out, sometimes it's good to not question the itch and just scratch it. Must have been a great feeling for him catching a fish that's almost as big as he is, lol, and outing his old man.

Looks delicious, I want to bite one of those tails off.

Haha! Thanks! The crunchy tails are tasty!

I wish my kids shared more of my interests.
I can hardly get them out fishing on a warm day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63527.41
ETH 3109.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86