You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Good Ol' Days

in #myhuntingfishing6 years ago

I remember in my youth seeing a herd of about 15 deer. That was the most I'd seen at one time, they are currently pretty sparse as most everyone in the surrounding country keeps them pretty well thinned.

Quail, dove and rabbit seem to be the few things that survive in these parts, as far back as I can recall.

Excellent write up, thanks for sharing.

Sort:  

Low deer numbers are generally a good thing for both people and the deer. Low numbers reduce deer predation on crops and collisions with cars. Also, low numbers reduce the chance for disease in the herd and slow the rate of spread should a disease arise.

I agree, sparse can be a healthy condition, just makes for slim hunting.
;)

I couldn't agree more!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57774.35
ETH 2339.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44