🎀 These Are A Few of My Favourite Things 🎀 Brass Edition 🎀steemCreated with Sketch.

in #myfavouritethings6 years ago (edited)

Happy Hump Day Steemians! Hope you guys are all having a lekker Wednesday!


Every Wednesday, I will be posting this new series. I have aptly named it "These Are A Few of My Favourite Things". Every time I say this, I sing the Julie Andrews song from The Sound of Music! Here's the vid, to remind you how catchy this damn song is!

This week's edition of #myfavouritethings is all about brass door handles! As you may know, I work in a gorgeous antique shop here in Cape Town. Something I often source are these antique door handles. Loads of people like to buy them to reuse in their houses. It just adds a certain je ne sais quo to an otherwise ordinary door.


This is one of my favourite pairs I have ever had. A very cute Art Nouveau door handle which we sourced in France. This was sold to a lady who used it for her bathroom door. Cool hey! These handles are all solid, cast brass, making them super hardy and durable.

I love this pair! I just sold them today, and that is what inspired this very post! 😁 This is a vintage pair of bank door handles. Love them. I think the polished brass looks quite spectacular, and I can just imagine that pair in a large old bank somewhere here in Cape Town.


And this is the cutest brass acorn finial or door handles I have ever seen. We found a few of these at a market in Brussels, and you can see how we have utilized them on our staircase!

e455fe8c-9662-410f-9f04-c764116f2bba.jpg

Would you use such shiny things in your home? I would (and have!).

Look out next week for more of #myfavouritethings

Ciao til then,

footer.jpg

Sort:  

I do love doors and door handles and these are some very cool Brass ones love the first one especially so ornate

Aww... this is really amazing idea 😊 I'm a sound of music freak knows all the songs by heart..lol
Beautiful door handles, never seen anyone quite like it and the one in the last pic on the stairs, really beautiful.
You have many beautiful items and killer taste 😉😊 thank you for sharing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63924.41
ETH 3120.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88