🌻 My Favourite Things 🌻 Vol III 🌻 French Balustrading 🌻

balustrading cover.jpg

Welcome to the third edition of #myfavouritethings. Last week I told you guys about a beautiful neoclassical chandelier that I have in my shop, and I was glad to hear how much you guys liked it. This week I will be showing you THE most stunning antique set of French balustrades.

We bought two pairs of these balustrades, which can also be used as Juliet balconies. They were purchased at a market in Paris, and we were told that they date back to the early 1800's.

🌻 Pair One 🌻:

564c24b0-2802-4303-a2f6-88cf6485b521.jpg

🌻 Pair Two 🌻:

950 x 1800 - R28500 (5).jpg

I can also prove the age of the panels, as they have lead closures. Those are the little round balls you can see in the below pic. What this means is that these panels were put together by a blacksmith in his forge. The panels were then nailed together, and a round ball shaped casting would be placed around the nailed-together pieces. The cast would then be filled with lead, and this would set into the solid round balls you see below. This really does show the age of these panels.

950 x 1800 - R28500 (9).jpg

Pair One have some stunning flower details that I just love, and have some of the original verdigris green paint still.

421e90e6-c4b8-47c1-8fdf-0e9164de5990.jpg

950 x 1800 - R28500 (1).jpg

Both pairs have a Gothic Revival feel to them, and pair one have a slight Art Nouveau influence. Pair two are more neoclassical style, with their rosettes, and arrow shaped meaning that they could date back to the late 1700's. The circular details scream neoclassicism.

950 x 1800 - R28500 (4).jpg

I've seen some pretty amazing buildings utilizing these balustrades as juliet balconies. I'll keep you guys posted when I sell them, and let you know where they are installed, but in the meantime, check out these beauties I found on Pinterest. These buildings are all based in Paris.

649d9fc19a108c3b580bd3936231befe.jpg
source

66a7de4ce1cdc35d04f4e733183f480d.jpg
source

Stunning, right?!

mewmewfooter.jpg

please consider voting for @adsactly-witness

adsaxtly-witness.gif

Sort:  

Those are gorgeous! I feel classier just looking at them. Do you ever talk in an accent and sip wine in the same room; running your hand along the metal, pretending to be some French aristocrat?

Um (stammers). I wouldn't either. Definitely not...


What are balustrades used for besides balconies?

hahahah! I wish I could sip wine at work!

Balustrades are used for a few things, as staircases, as mezzanine level dividers, I know of a French prince or royal who had them in his palace as a room divider too.

And, in today's times, i have also sold a few to client's to use as headboards for their bedrooms

One day, perhaps the world will be made of wine...
or once Steem marketplaces are more of a thing — you can run your antique biz steemily, and have all the wine you wish!

Ah, I wan't one! In fact, when Steem hits $100, I'll buy 2 :)
So be on the lookout for more! ...it won't be long.

Sounds dreamy 💜. If steem hits $100, I’ll buy the shop from my boss

haha YES. I can't wait to see it.

what kind of market is this? like an auction-type? hope that they sell to a person who’d appreciate them!

hi! So i work in an antique dealership, and I buy and sell antiques. These were bought at one of the antiques markets in paris

ooo gotcha! must be so fun to find all these antiques

@princessmewmew i always love the device you used to snap your picture...so beautiful and clear

Oh thank you! I just use my iPhone and then I up the brightness, contrast and sometimes I’ll do the contrast twice 💜

Awesome antiques here, it's more like antiquity brought to modernity

Love the idea of this article series 😍 At my parents house where I grew up, we had balustrades VERY similar to that dark gothic pair, brings back old memories, beautiful.

Overall good post, nice flow with the photos, nice to take a trip back in time 🙏🏼

Otherwise, if you're into travelling, vlogs, fitness, self-development etc feel free to check out my channel, in any case keep up the good work and I'll see you around! :)

oh, lovely! Thanks for your comment

Good to find another vintage-antiques lover <3

So, your shop is an antique shop? Those two pieces are very unique and I can see how old they are. How are they used aside from being valuable antiques? And curious how much they go for :)
Those pintrest pics are very unique too...Thanks for sharing.

Yes, we specialize in antique lighting and furniture.

The balustrades can be used on staircases, Juliet balconies and as room dividers

Fantastic. I wish you the best in your business. I like antiques too but hard to find good ones here in Dubai.

Oh thank you very much!

I love pair 2 !! :D
Also, I think we love the same things ....hmmmm..... probably your store will be the first place I visit when I come to SA :D

Awesome! You say when you come to SA, like you are definitely coming?

SA has been on my top5 wish list for 4 years now AND one of my closest friends here is from SA so yeah, I AM DEFINITELY coming !!! :D Maybe not this year, but hopefully in 2019 max ;)

Yay! That is awesome. We will meet up when you do

Wow @princessmewmew! These are some epic pieces, I dig the gothic-neo-class - would make for a rather fitting balcony for the Archduke himself ;)

I'd love to come check out your shop sometime!

hehe! You are most welcome to. Any time. It's very close to where you are

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63768.57
ETH 2478.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54