If you pay USD39000 for a course, how do you value it?

in #myeducationfees4 years ago

I am Philip from Hong Kong. I have read the post about the competition about how much you spend on education. Before starting my sharing, I would like to thanks @rishabh99946 for holding such a meaningful event.

I would like to share the experience that I am studying now. It is not an easy task to study in a part-time mode with my three little children. I would like to say thanks to my lovely wife and my helpful colleagues as well. Their help and understanding are much more important to support my study than anything else.

Doctor of Health Science

Back to the topic, I am studying in the doctor of health science (DHSC) course of the Hong Kong Polytechnic University (PolyU).
Here is the location and the photo of the university:


853H+HV Hung Hom

Comparison with PhD program

Unlike a PhD program, it focuses more on the fusion of clinical and theory. The main difference between the two programmes is that the PhD would be an intense research-based programme. The candidate needs to prepare a high standard of study and have a comprehensive thesis for graduation. The DHSC also required a research study, also need to publish a paper and complete a thesis.
In contrast, the requirement of the research topic would be on a smaller scale, more application based. I hope my explanation is clear enough to clarify the difference between the two programmes. Feel free to leave your comment or asking the question on that. I will answer as far as I know.

Duration of DHSC

The duration of the DHSC course is 3 to 4 years. It is pretty rush to complete the taught part with the research part within the time frame.

The Hong Kong Polytechnic University

PolyU is a university since 1937. It started from a government trade school and then became the Hong Kong Technical College in 1947. Since 1994, the institution assumed full university status with the name changed to "The Hong Kong Polytechnic University" and become one of the eight public-funded universities in Hong Kong.
It is a lovely university with red-brick buildings. It located in the centre of the city with convenient transportation. It is also a university famous in allied health training, design and hotel management internationally.

The tutorial fee payment

Alright, stick to the main point, the tutorial fee is around USD39000. I cannot say it is expensive or not. It is a self-financed program. I have applied the student loan for payment.
Before applying for the course, I would pretty much concern about the fee. It would be a financial burden to my family. It would not bring a direct income after graduation. I have struggled on spending the money on continuous education or other investiment.
Then, I have a discussion with my wife on this topic and told her my concern. She said that it was not an easy opportunity to study at the university, especially a doctoral program.

You can earn money back. But the opportunity would not wait for you forever.

So I was there, pretty cool aha?

However, to pay the bill, I have to study in part-time mode, and it is quite common nowadays in Hong Kong, especially to study in Master degree for career development. I would like to hear from all of you and see what is happening worldwide, please leave your comment and share what you are thinking!

Here is the link of PolyU Facebook
Here is the link of PolyU linkedin
Here is the link of twitter

Sort:  

Woah, 39000USD sounds really expensive for me, this is a great post, thank you for participating i have learnt a lot from this post.
Greetings from India!

Nice to meet you! Very glad to hear from you in India! All the best! Stay safe and healthy!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66396.53
ETH 3174.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15