My Curie Story: The Steemit Tooth Fairy

in #mycuriestory6 years ago (edited)

cover3.png
Photo labeled for reuse. Source. Although this illustration is not my own, it isn't too far off from what I would look like if I were the tooth fairy.


The Steemit Tooth Fairy


I had not been on steemit for long before I began to hear tales of the tooth-fairy-esque @curie. Legend had it that, if you wrote a really original, amazing, interesting post, when you went to bed, @curie would could come down from the steemy heavens and leave a massive up-vote under your pillow. “Wow, that’s pretty neat,” I recall thinking to myself and I never really gave it much more consideration.

A couple of weeks later, I posted an article entitled The Great Robot Owl Experiment about roboticized taxidermied predatory birds that I help build and maintain for wildlife biology experiments. The next morning I woke up with a cramp in my neck. My pillow felt unusually lumpy for some reason. I went to try and adjust it and I discovered a huge pile of SBD under my pillow. Steemits very own post-fairy had found my post! I couldn’t believe it. I was still pretty new to blogging, had a pretty low rep, and was used to low payouts. The upvote gave me a great boost to my reputation and some SBD that I could invest into my account. Beyond that, it encouraged me to keep posting on the platform and to try and focus on making engaging and original content.

Shortly after receiving my second @curie upvote for a review about a horror/fantasy/childrens movie from my youth, I began to notice that an outstanding author I follow (@agmoore), who started about the same time as me, had yet to really get any attention for the great posts they were writing. After they published this post on the relationship between wasps and figs, I wondered “Where was the post-fairy?”. So I went looking for her.

It turned out that @curie was not just one fairy, but a whole community of them that reside in the Curie Discord Chat. Once I was there, I quickly learned that anyone could become a prospective curator simply by asking. I requested permission to share my findings and presented the post. After some discussion, curator @andywong31 said he would propose the post and it was ultimately chosen for upvote. I had become the post-fairy.

After spending some time as a prospective curator, I recently became a curator myself under the mentorship of @lordkingpotato. I am still pretty new in the role, but hope to spread some @curie cheer to many unrecognized or underappreciated authors in the future. I also achieved a @curie hat-trick last week, receiving my third curie upvote for an autobiographical post about me and my first electric guitar.

It can be really difficult for people to get recognition on this platform, even when they have exceptional work. Curie works to make sure these authors do not go unappreciated and tries to keep the ‘proof of brain’ concept alive on steemit by promoting engaging and original content on the platform.

If you are a fan of @curies work, you can show your appreciation and vote for their witness here or delegate some Steem Power to them. Remember to always vote for witnesses who you feel are working to make steemit a better place.


U5drSXjcX2hGbTWdpNcwLkyvHVNDdxv_1680x8400.png


Best wishes,
@veckinon

Sort:  

And they always come when we are felling upset, incredible.

You know...sometimes the fairy @veckinon strikes too!
Thank you my friend for supporting my work and for nominating me for the steem basic income, one day I'll have the means to retribute that.

No worries, man. Just keep doing your thing. I love your stories and advice. I am happy you are here on steemit.

I love the tooth fairy metaphor. That is exactly what it felt like. Have to check out the older posts, especially the Great Robot Owl Experiment.

Some people get good fortune and bask in the glory. And then, there are people who take the fortune and see what good they can do with it. Lucky me, you don't hang around basking :)

Resteeming. Want to help spread the word about about @curie.

I had a similar experience. It is a great group. Glad to hear you are a curator, now you can show the home state some love! ;)

Haha. Yeah, I was really sad to have found your figurine post as late as I did. Curie upvotes can only happen in the first 24 hours. I've got my eye on you though.

sure, thanks. I post them when I finish some, it will be few weeks now before I post any more probably. I fill in the rest with beer review posts and some music type posts. I found your friend dflo also and started following her. My big Curie upvoted posts was a custom figurine post.

Haha yeah they are indeed tooth fairies. It happens whenever we least expect it, at least for me. 😂

I also like another one they support, the steemSTEM community.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69163.01
ETH 3773.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43