You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My @Curie Story - Hope Given

in #mycuriestory6 years ago

Thanks for posting this :) I think honestly it is harder to find a footing now than it ever has been for a new author on Steem platform. So much of the total available SP has been delegated to vote sellers that the amount left in the hands of active voters with human eyes is minuscule and the worth of those votes diluted. Curie of course can't be a long term solution for every quality author on this platform (well, maybe if someone wants to delegate millions of SP to Curie we could expand and try to take on that role better LOL), but I think it is a good reminder to hear these stories - even a couple of big upvotes are certainly much better than none. On that we can all agree, right? :)

I hope you stick it out, you take the time to write nice posts on a variety of topics. The truth about earning here on Steem platform is in large part it depends on networking and even moreso on making friends with some people higher up on the totem pole. The way the math works, you basically have to be receiving upvotes from someone higher up to keep gaining REP. Finding some communities to join, whether "real" communities that have a chat home e.g. PAL / MSP chat on Discord, or just blockchain based communities of posters on a posting topic e.g. posting beer reviews, finding like-minded posters and making friends is key.

Cheers - Carl

Sort:  

You paint a bit of a dismal picture Carl, not very encouraging to new authors. I actually like some of the ability I have to write actual blog type poses, as compared to what I do on Facebook (with my custom figurines). And the beer reviews are better here than on Instagram where I used to pose most of my beer pictures. So from that aspect I like Steemit. But it is frustrating with the $$ side of things, the allure is you will make money posting things on here. However, it isn't that simple and really, like you said, there are some big big whales who control things, and having to "buddy up" to a patron as it were is kind of crazy, a popularity contest really.

Yes I have heard all the advice, need to find a like group and build a community, join discord and chat it up with like minded people. I am on discord but I really don't have time to spend on there very much. Posting on Steemit takes a lot of time and effort, plus my hobby is very time consuming, I work full time and have a wife and kids (yes older ones but there is a grandbaby that I love to see), so while great advice not all that easy to accomplish. The amount of fluctuation even in the beer community is astounding. When I first was posting beer reviews for example, I started getting really good upvotes, I was seeing post values in the $s but for some reason that all dried up and I am lucky to get to a $1 now, and that is largely because I do have one fellow who upvotes most of my stuff to get me there. Most of the beer drinking community is a bunch of planton or minnows, so their votes are not worth a lot.
Anyway, sorry about the griping, I don't want to come off like that but it just is the way this site is set up, it is not really newbie friendly, with restrictions on voting power and all that. I have to assume there is a high number of people who join only to leave within a few months, due to lack of any recognition or gaining steem.
Ill for sure stick it out for the foreseeable future . I really do wonder how this site will survive with the way the steem is distributed, I have always said this, and I feel it is so true on this site, the rich get richer and the poor just muddle around until they leave.
All that said, it is great there are groups like Curie and ocd (who boosted one of my posts recently), so that provides the hope I spoke about in my title to this post.
:) long reply, sorry.

No need to be sorry, everything you are saying is true. But the thing you slipped in the middle RE you used to post your beer pics to Instragram and of course didn't receive any $ there is good to keep in mind as well. Adjusting expectations, particularly when new(ish), can help. For the vast majority of new users this is not going to be a get rich quick platform, nor even a make a decent amount for posting platform. But on the other hand, we all have used other platforms for free, right? LOL

yes true on your assessment.

I have a question, someone called hugewhale sent me 0.001 steem with this message: Promote your post. Your post will be resteemed with over 10.500+ followers , Min 45+ Upvote , Hugewhale Upvote ( 3100SP ) . Your post will be more popular and you will find new friends. Send 0.700 SBD or 1.0 STEEM to hugewhale ( URL as memo ) Service Active
is this basically spam?

Well yeah by any definition of spam that would be spam. I have no idea if the particular service being advertised in that spam is a real service or not, but in any case, resteem services in general are pretty worthless.

yeah seems like it is, just not sure when I get these types of messages who donate a pittance to me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56784.71
ETH 2392.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.27