My California - A @SoCalSteemit Contest - Dragon Fruit

in #mycalifornia6 years ago

IMG_4824.JPG

My California

The @socalsteemit group has this fun activity to show off what California means to us. If you live in Southern California, do join in. Here is the contest. If you missed this week - no worries. There will be another one next week! And join the discord!

My California is represented in a Dragon Fruit this week.

Before I came here, I never ever had seen such a thing. The first time, I saw a fruit in a store, it was $ 5.99 per lb. I had to buy one!! It just looked too weird to pass up.

Sadly, the fruit was rather a disappoinment.

Later, I joined the Rare Fruit Growers of California and learned all about Dragon Fruit.

Here is what I have to say about them.

The flowers are georgeous!!

dragon.JPG

The plant has tiny thorns that can hurt you!! And they get big and need support - so choose wisely where you plant them.

There are many varieties out there and not all of them are equally good.

But if you get a good one - they are so very delicious!!!

IMG_4987.JPG

If you have a yard and a friend with a good variety - go for it. Grow some!!!

Freewrite.png

Join us for the daily 5 - Minute Freewrite. Check my profile for a new prompt every day.

Freewrite.png

All images are my own unless otherwise cited.

Freewrite.png

Socalsteemitbanner2.jpg

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord!

Freewrite.png

WITNESS_enginewittyGIF.gif
Click on the graphics to vote for Enginewitty as a witness

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

Join us at the Freewrite House for fun and games!!! Weekly drawing for SBI memberships and so much more!!

Freewritehouse-footer-400px.png

Sort:  

Nice! I grow a bunch of dragon fruit. Mine must be a different variety than yours, as the insides are white with the little black seeds instead of red like yours. I love eating them even though it's usually hit or miss to get a good one. Sometimes they're really sweet and sometimes they're almost flavorless.

I have to give you some cuttings of some good varieties :)

Yes, please! That would be awesome.

I've only had bland ones and this is where they grow wild! I have this contest on my list. Now that I am back from Singapore, I will be better organized and will get to it :)

Thank you for participating in this weeks 'Show us Your California' contest!
SCSreplybanner.jpg

That is an expensive price imo. In Indonesia dragon fruit is now so common that the price is really cheap. I actually love the white insides one more than the red ones.

There are so many different varieties. the red ones I grow are very sweet - I don't bother to grow some that aren't. I also have some that are white inside :)

I had a dragon fruit for the 1st time while in the Philippines. They were delicious and so beautiful. Thanks for the post...I actually didn't even know that we could grow them here in SoCal. Learn something new every day :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57382.38
ETH 3075.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39