#MyCalifornia ~ Oxnard to Los Angeles On the Pacific Surfliner, In Photographs

in #mycalifornia6 years ago

I currently live in Oxnard, California, but I've lived all over this great state, from south to north. Recently I took the Pacific Surfliner train from Oxnard to Union Station in downtown Los Angeles. I've ridden Amtrak in the East and ridden plenty of trains in the Far East (Japan), but this was my first train trip in California. I had a great time and will definitely take the train again. This post will chronicle the trip itself in photographs. Subsequent posts might document the time I spent in Los Angeles, at a new brewery restaurant that is revitalizing dining at Union Station, and at Olvera Street. All images in this post are my original photos (and I reserve all rights) and can be viewed full frame if you so desire. They were all taken with a Canon EOS 80D using an EFS 18-55 mm kit lens. So, all aboard! and join me as I ride the SoCal rails.
oxnard post.JPG

The Surfliner pulls into Oxnard


oxnard surfliner.JPG

Oxnard grows a lot of the food you eat


oxnard fields.JPG

First stop Camarillo Station, seen in reflection


camarillo station.JPG

Aboard the Surfliner...not too crowded in Business Class


train seats.JPG

Unfortunately, no ocean views on this trip...Moorpark, Simi Valley, Chatsworth, VanNuys, and Hollywood/Burbank (Bob Hope) Airport


burbank station.JPG
bob hope airport.JPG

Glendale has a beautiful train station


glendale station.JPG

We're getting close to Union Station in Los Angeles


entering la.JPG

Off the train, heading into the station


to the station.JPG

Off to explore...


directions.JPG

And then back to the station for the trip back to Oxnard


IMG_0027.JPG

IMG_0033.JPG

union station bustle.JPG

Our train is pulling in..."All Aboard" for the trip back north to Oxnard


ps at la.JPG

Thanks for joining me on this trip and letting me show you #MyCalifornia. I hope you enjoyed the ride!

Socalsteemitbanner2.jpg

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord!

Sort:  

Thanks for taking us along with you on the trip

I feel a bit slack I ride the train every work day and havent taken one photo out the window of the train, I must make a point of doing it sometime

I’m gonna hold you to it ;-)

it may not be for a while these next few months it will be dark on the train both going into and out of the city

That might make for some interesting images. Light trails?

Ohh yeah I had not thought of that Hmmmm let me give it some thought

That sounds like it was fun! I'm not familiar with the surfliner but I know all those cities you went though. You got some great photos. I'm not sure why exactly, but for some reason I really like both those b&w ones!

Thanks. There are several different editing techniques in this post. I like the B&W too but, if I’m allowed to pay myself on the back, I like the image of Union Station. It reminds of an old postcard.

nice to be able to travel around and see and smell the flowers sometimes !

It is, my friend. It is. Thanks for stopping by.

Congratulations, your post won 1st place in this weeks 'Show us Your California' contest!
SCSreplybanner.jpg

Thanks. I can’t believe it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57809.89
ETH 3118.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37