#MyCalifornia ~ A Trip To Santa Cruz Island

in #mycalifornia6 years ago

Recently, my wife and I took a trip to Santa Cruz Island through Island Packers in Ventura, California. They offer trips to five of the Channel Islands, as well as whale watching trips and island wildlife (non-landing) trips. There are two landings at Santa Cruz Island, Scorpion Anchorage and Prisoners Harbor, and you can camp on the island if you want. We went to Scorpion Anchorage.

Santa Cruz Island is the largest island in California and therefore the largest of the eight Channel Islands. This first image is our boat, the Islander.
IMG_0083.JPG

Approaching Santa Cruz Island


IMG_0104.JPG

Getting Ready To Dock At Scorpion Cove

IMG_0118.JPG

You can hike to several different areas on the island, snorkel, or kayak. My wife and I took the easiest hike to Cavern Point, made even easier by doing the loop backwards.
IMG_0127.JPG

Approaching Cavern Point


IMG_0137.JPG

Views from Cavern Point


IMG_0158.JPG

You can see neighboring Anacapa Island from here:
IMG_0170.JPG

Back To The Beach At Scorpion Cove


IMG_0271.JPG

IMG_0309.JPG

IMG_0276.JPG

Dolphins Surfed In the Boat's Wake On the Way Home


IMG_0345.JPG
IMG_0338.JPG

Back Home At Ventura Harbor


IMG_0369.JPG

I hope you enjoyed this trip to Santa Cruz Island. There are year-round trips so, if you're ever in Ventura/Oxnard, you should check it out!

Be sure to click on the images to view them full screen!

Original photographs by @kunschj. All rights reserved

Sort:  

Thank you for participating in this weeks 'Show us Your California' contest!
SCSreplybanner.jpg

Congratz, your post has been resteemed, upvoted and… featured in The Daily Spotlights of November 9 2018! Check it out to see who nominated you…

Aw, such a wonderful trip! I bet you had a lot of fun! I'm nominating this post for the #dailyspotlights, by @pixresteemer!

Now who’s being too kind? I’m honored and so appreciative of your support.

My pleasure, my dear friend!

WOW! Beautiful pictures, beautiful waters, beautiful beach. Simply beautiful. What more can one ask for on a trip? :-)

It was a great trip. Maybe an hour too long since my wife wasn’t up to hiking more, but fun nonetheless. We went for my birthday but the trip was an anniversary gift from my parents.

You are so loved. Lucky you. :-)

Thanks Vincent.

Awesome contest entry @kunschj! If you get a sec drop the link to your post in the comments of the contest post so we can give you a second 100% upvote there!

Thanks for reminding me.

I've been to Ventura Harbour, a friend of mine Mark, has relatives running that restaurant right there..

I had clam chowder if I remembered correctly. I did not know there is possibility to go out on a cruise and see islands or dolphins... very nice indeed. The waters must be too cold to get into right?

Every year, my wife and I talk about taking one of these trips, but this was our first. I’m pretty sure you would need a wetsuit to get into the water. Next time you’re in Ventura, you should definitely take a cruise.

i dont think i'll ever get to travel out again. But if you ever come to singapore, look me up !

That goes without saying, but my wife is done with flying, or so she says.

then you may have to ditch her.... haha.. just kidding

Or pour a few drinks into her ;-P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62647.29
ETH 2439.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66