1/4 Oz - Show Us Your California - Week 12steemCreated with Sketch.

in #mycalifornia5 years ago (edited)

I went to two markets today for grocery items, well, two markets and one bakery counting the dispensary. The first market is where we get all of our produce and the second one is for vitamins and supplements but first things first—the bakery. I went over to 1 Love 420 in Long Beach, California and picked up seven grams of:

C218AF23-56A4-45F6-81F7-2765E92673FA.jpeg

Hybrid cross between LA Confidential and OG Kush

But it’s not just palm trees, blue skies and medical grade weed out here in the coastal cities of sunny Southern California. Our heavy layers of smog make the most amazing purple and green sunsets, the chem trails are everlasting and, if you look just a little beyond the palm trees, you’ll see oil drilling rigs. Lots and lots and lots of oil drilling rigs—that’s the Port of Long Beach in the distance.

0EBC12C0-7AE8-4F55-9E52-B5EAB708F477.jpeg

15B92573-BDF4-4C90-BD1A-CFD3C3E47052.jpeg

If that rig seems a little close to a residential neighborhood, check out this one in the parking lot of “world famous” Curley’s Cafe an active, open 24/7 restaurant in Signal Hill, California. People are dining there right now.

5BEDCA70-8D9C-426E-9444-B724E8890F58.jpeg

If you zoom in a little closer on that rig, you’ll notice another common LA County attraction muted out by the view of palm trees and top shelf trees—homeless trees.

275EE9F1-7FE4-43C2-BDD9-012061210C25.jpeg

New Year’s Eve, 2018, sunny Southern California—even public benches are off limits around here. “You can’t sit down here.”

004EC671-81C3-4FE8-961E-6DC8B800AF64.jpeg

D0313B2A-1F20-43D1-AF78-10FC2D33AA77.jpeg

I ♥️ California born and raised, I grew up in the land of world class Mexican #food, sig-alerts and insanely overpriced rent. Tanning salons and spray tan facilities just steps from the beach, lowered full-size trucks with personalized license plates and daylight savings time are just a few of the many west coast normalities I’m accustomed to. Like blue skies encompassing the coast—I wouldn’t have it any other way.

0AEAADB8-DDAA-47B7-B503-AC88F65C4431.jpeg

Chem trail formations, birds bigger around than power poles, ”super yachts” in the harbor and hypnotizing sunsets are all here—welcome to Pacific Standard Timezone.

634E45D6-BBA2-4A78-9291-68DB5D84D351.jpeg

7C7AFF76-1E2C-4E28-8D0C-828BC9635BE3.jpeg

73A8917C-50F4-4A17-9CE7-F9CB7BEE970D.jpeg

563FACC5-FB6D-4785-92DB-078F60893261.jpeg

And sometimes all you have to do is zoom out a little bit, slow down, give yourself enough time to take it all in and you can increase the intensity of your surroundings by 100% without smoking or clicking anything.

3804723F-D84E-4F8B-B517-1058A361735D.jpeg

Thank you for the opportunity @socalsteemit! If you have a Southern California #story, check out their #mycalifornia initiative here and show off your:
A0B808F8-D592-4188-9DB7-CDD45F9DD85C.jpeg

psst... They’re giving away 4 @sbi every week

90EF064B-DDA1-4D15-8EE3-A16D7C419A3B.jpeg

Click here for Monday.
11A0F886-B67D-4703-9D04-E3EE4F4318BC.jpeg

Sort:  

Such a fantastic post demonstrating Southern California contradictions, the contrasts that make this state great! Congrats on your win, too!

Thank you @creationofcare, I really appreciate that. Thanks for recognizing my love for California, both the beauty and the peculiar. 😉

And congratulations to you, too! Great job you did here!

Eh, I’ve often mentioned to my wife I know exactly where you’re standing when you snap some pictures. I’ve never lived there but I owned a house on North K... I’m sure you know what city that is in, right? Yeah I owned a house there for 6 years, it was just beds and a tv, all we did is park the boats and jet skis in the back yard. My aunt and uncle began taking me to Jack Smith since I was about 4.

I grew up in LA and spent my summer weekends somewhere between Mohave and Parker.

Great to know you @creationofcare. Good morning! Thanks again for the mention. (I’m going to save my name drop until I know we’re on the same page)

howdy sir dandays! haha I love this post, so entertaining but informative, interesting, funny. In other words everything I wish I could make my posts be! lol. sorry I missed the voting timeline on this but I'm recharging anyway.

You’re taking the time to read my work AND post a comment?! Janton you’ll never hurt my feelings by unintentionally missing the voting time line. So long as I can keep you interested. I’m glad you liked this one!

No need to compare your articles against mine, though, your stories are consistent and informative and from the looks of our reputations.... you’re doing just fine! 😉

Thanks for stopping by @janton.

howdy sir dandays! I'm not really comparing our articles, I'm just admiring yours, I think mine pale in any kind of humor, cleverness, creativeness, etc so I don't expect mine to do that well which is fine, this gig may be very temporary and I don't have any need to write anything like most people on steemit seem to have and it don't come easy for me neither! lol. No matter what the topic, and I love the fact that you don't have a niche, they're totally entertaining!

During my time in Cali I spent many nights wondering the oil fields, or should I say getting lost in the oil fields trying to find the cause of a power outage. These oil field were located in the Beautiful hills of Oildale, Taft, and Avanal. I spent most of my 8 years in central Cali, well better known as the Armpit So seeing those oil rigs right in town is really throwing me for a loop.
I worked so much we didn’t take many vacations and the ones we did take were back up to Washington to visit family. I did make it to LA once to buy my Truck. The guy was asking $12K and I offered him $5k, we settled on $6.5k. Little did I know I was going to feel real guilty later. The guy was a midget and I felt like I totally took advantage of him. Lol. Yes I purchased my Crew Cab Dually 4x4 Flatbed Diesel Truck from a Midget in LA
I can’t make this up dude!!
I lived in Fresno and would make an occasional trip to Monterey Bay But That Place isn’t that spectacular, accept it does have a pretty awesome aquarium

Oh man, iheart Monterey Bay! When we were staying in hollister, we would cruise over to Monterey a few times a month. Santa Cruz is a dump, Monterey Bay is gorgeous. Maybe it was a long time ago and you were a lot younger?

Surprising where they plant these rigs, isn’t it? Man, it was totally unintentional but I found an #fff post amongst my searching. Wait’ll you see my contender. 👍🏿

Do you think midgets have ‘short-man syndrome?’ Dually, diesel, etc, hints toward “yes” but then again he was just short and it’s just a truck. 🤔

I don’t know if I’ve told you before but whenever you
or anyone Mentions Fresno, bro, I can’t help but immediately think of Planet Asia. Heard of him? One of the better things to come out of Fresno and undeniably the best MC to come outta the realm of farm Lands and slaughter houses.

Thanks for stopping by @jlsplatts.

(Man!! I ain’t heard that track for a minute! Thanks for forcing me to put in my earbuds this am, Splatts. ....such a jam)

What you saying I’m short....shhh don’t tell anyone :wink:wink
I know a lot of CHP have short-man syndrome. I’ve heard this countless times when a car would smash into a pole... a shorter gentlemen steps out of his police cruiser...”What’s this Jack ass have to say”. Me...well, I just turn and start laughing!!! BTW the guy was Hispanic and I think under his hat he was rockin’ a mullet of some sort. I don’t know for sure but he did have some long hair hangin out the back. Dude I was in a neighborhood that looked exactly like the movie Friday, short fences in the front yard and a ton of small houses that looked the same.
There were some interesting things about Fresno but I worked so much I don’t remember. I will have to throw my earbuds in and check him out. I got virgin ears around lol. I did enjoy picking the peaches off of the tops of the trees in the orchard from my bucket truck though. You know the ones that get the most sun and taste the absolute best!!! Or oranges, watermelons, okay I’m going to stop.

As soon as you said you picked the peaches from the top, without reading anymore I knew you were in the bucket truck and I had a sense of how delicious they were before I finished the sentence.

Yeah, the ones that nobody else can reach! Happy Saturday @jlsplatts.

And why are you moving? I guess going from one paradise to another is not a bad thing, espically if it allows you to keep a little more of that green stuff in your pocket. It has to cost a pretty good buck to live where you are presently hanging your hat.

Oil rigs all over the place, that is not a sight you see every day.

Good morning thebigsweed, happy Saturday! Interesting oil rig placement yeah?

There’s a couple of things I’m trying to avoid, Sweed. Did you know?....

  • 2 years abroad means none of my Local pensions can be taxed anymore, after two years. (That’s a little over half my income tax free)
  • 2 years abroad and and your SSi taxes change from 12% on 100% of your earning to 7% of “up to” (key words - “up to”) 50% of your earnings. That’s a huge savings!

Now there’s a couple of insane things to fathom, for starters, no IRS, nope! The IRS is just a USA thing. I love it there, Sweed. The people are statistically the nicest there compared to anywhere in the world, other than Bali. Well then, I have to see Bali cuz I don’t think humans can be any kinder. Restaurants in CR don’t bring you your check, you have to ask for it and it’s gonna be another 30 minutes until you get it. Because time doesn’t matter down there my friend, everyone has it. Can you imagine being surrounded by humans with time?

Then there’s something basic like ‘income.’ Going from a land where $1,550/month for a 420 square foot studio apartment is comfortable to a land where average income of less than half of that at $700/month. I can’t wait! Plus... I haven’t had a German Shepherd for nearly 6 years now, wait’ll you watch that progression, his name will be Knight, can’t wait!!

Thanks a lot for stopping by @thebigsweed! Hey, I see Robin posting a little often, congratulations! I’m looking forward to getting it know her. She’s your wife, she must be stellar. 😉

Happy New Year buddy! The placement of those oil rigs is absolutely crazy!! but you're right, there is beauty all around there, starting with the people of course 😊

And look at me, leaving a comment three minutes in!

Hey, what in the... Didn’t I just have you on discord too?! The lovely Lynn Coyle twice in the same day—luckiest guy I know right here. Happy New Year you and Brian, we think of you guys often.

...starting with the people of course

Just an offramp away from your old hood actually. 😉

Thanks for stopping by @lynncoyle1.

Always a pleasure @dandays :) Your lucky day was mine too then!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62975.56
ETH 3112.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87