Need Help: How to Travel Around Yangon?

in #myanmar6 years ago

I'm set to travel to Yangon, Myanmar in a few months and I made the mistake of booking a hotel outside the downtown area.

To decrease the severity of my mistake, I'm looking for cost efficient ways to travel around the city.

At this point, all I'm looking for is anything less than the going minimum taxi rate which is 1,500 kyat.

From my research, I learned that Yangon has a circular train that takes 2 to 3 hours to complete a full cycle. I've gathered that the train fare is at 300 kyats wherever you decide to get off.

Yangon_Circular_Railway.png

Luckily the train schedule is easy to understand.
Yangon_Circular_Railway_Timetable_2014-12-01_small.jpg

I would still like to consider other possible options for my mode of transport while I'm there. I hear the bus system is cheap but tricky for non-Burmese speakers.

Yangon_Circular_Railway_Map_in_Train.JPG

Now, I don't suppose you happen to be an English- speaking Burmese steemian who is familiar with Yangon?

No? Oh, okay.
Anyone with helpful info will do then.
Post any helpful tips or advice you could give to tourists like me!

Please and Thank you.

Disclaimer: These pictures aren't mine. I just found them on Google.

Sort:  
Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64916.21
ETH 3483.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45