My 2018: A Tour around my town: Drayton Valley - my home away from home.

in #my20187 years ago

Okay, as I mentioned on my #introduceyouself post yesterday, I moved here in Canada in 2008. I applied for a working visa, and was approved to work in a hotel in Drayton Valley, Alberta. That time, the only place I know in Canada is Vancouver because of the Winter Olympics. But being a Filipino, it is a dream come true to get a chance to work abroad, and bonus if it's somewhere that has four seasons. Philippines is a tropical country, and trust me, everybody from the Philippines wants to experience snow at least once in their lives.

Of course when I knew that I will be working in Drayton Valley, I googled it. Like, I never heard of such place, I never knew that Canada has provinces and not States, lol. So google said that "Drayton Valley is a town in central Alberta, Canada. It is located on Highway 22 (Cowboy Trail), approximately 133 kilometres (83 mi) southwest of Edmonton. It is surrounded by Brazeau County, known for its vast oil fields. The town is located between the North Saskatchewan River and the Pembina River...

Bracing with the knowledge that it's an oilfield town, means that there would be work when I get there, I flew 11,000kms to Drayton Valley, Alberta. Little did I know that this will be the town that I will call my second home.

Oil and gas is the primary driver of Drayton Valley's economy. Agriculture and forestry also play roles in the local economy. Drayton Valley has a community sports centre which is the Omniplex that hosts ice hockey, ringette, curling, soccer, baseball and rodeo. The town also has a public swimming pool, a ski hill, a bowling alley, and the Drayton Valley Golf and Country Club.

12.jpg

Aside from the seven liquor stores which I love the most, lol, there are multiple parks and walking trails all around the town. You can enjoy it in four seasons!

3.jpg
1.jpg
You can toboggan on the hill, or ice skates on the frozen pond in Winter time.

9.jpg
10.jpg
6.jpg
12 (2).jpg
Enjoy gardening, walking, or just stay out enjoying the sun in Spring and Summer time.

4.jpg
5.jpg
And in the Fall, enjoy and be amazed with the colors.

canada082.JPG
As a small town with 7,000++ population, I am very blessed that this town has at least 200++ Filipinos. Being that far away from where I grew up, it is comforting to know that I am in town where I wouldn't feel as a stranger. I am surrounded with people that have the same background, it is so much easier to fit in.

I am so proud and happy to call Drayton Valley as my home away from home.

::: Thank you @blocktrades for your SP delegation to @anomadsoul.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58054.32
ETH 2357.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42