My 2018 - This is my Hobby: Taking Photographs

in #my20186 years ago

This hobby started in the year 2016. Where my first and major travel happened. I considered it "major" because it's my first time in an airplane and my first time to be in Luzon. I went there with my workmates and a workmate's friend who brought her DSLR. We decided to use her camera for the sake of great quality. But she didn't upload our pics. Only her photos and one of my workmate which is her bestfriend. To my dismay, I decided to buy a camera to capture all moments while travelling.

After hearing my tragic story, my workmate which is a photographer, told me he knows someone who's selling a DSLR for a good deal. A Nikon D90 with around 5k shutter counts for only 14k. So I immediately bought it. And used it to my next adventures.
1.jpg

That time, I only used the Automatic Mode which is just like using a cellphone. Just pointing and shooting on random moments. Then I decided to explore the capabilities of my newly bought camera and started to learn how to deal with Manual Mode. I read articles on how to use the camera to it's full potential. Then tested it on flowers.
2.jpg

After getting those pictures, I thought I can be a photographer! Because I can now separate the subject from it's background. I focused it correctly and fascinated with the lovely bokeh. But it was all luck. :(
3.jpg

4.jpg

With too much confidence, I invited my friend to have a photoshoot. I even let her rent a costume. And as you can see, she's out of focus. I've never been so disappointed with myself. So I read more articles about how to focus with my DSLR and asking my workmate for some tips. Then invited another friend for a photoshoot.
5.jpg

6.jpg

7.jpg

I'm so happy and amazed of the photos I've captured that day. But not satisfied. I've seen the photos of my workmate which is way too beautiful than what I have taken. Being curious, I asked my workmate if how does he take amazing photos. Is it the model? the place? or the camera? that make his wedding and prenup photos awesome. He then introduced me to Lightroom. A software that enhances raw photos. Overwhelmed by the possibilities, I tried it right away.
8.jpg

9.jpg

10.jpg

I thought it would be easy. That it's just one click away. I failed again, big time! I've overdone toggling those settings that it ruined the photo. But that didn't stop me from pursuing wonderful pictures. I still take pictures during my travels and experimenting on the outcomes. Learning from it gradually.
11.jpg

12.jpg

13.jpg

14.jpg

15.jpg

16.jpg

Then it hits me. Photography is a never ending learning process. My workmates and other photographers which are considered professionals are still learning and improving their crafts. They never settle for their current best shots. And so I continued shooting, and photography will be always a part of me now.

17.jpg

And so should you, whatever you like doing, whatever makes you feel happy, just don't stop even if you fail. Dont be discourage if you didn't get what you expect. Instead, persevere and continue learning. : )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62699.43
ETH 2963.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61