My 2018: A tour around my town Alakahia

in #my20187 years ago (edited)

I found out about this contest few days ago from a friend. I wish I had seen it earlier but it's better late than never. Thanks @anomadsoul for coming up with this contest.
I live in Alakahia in Port Harcourt. I happened to take a tour around and share some of the pictures with you. Here they are;

Above is the picture of the town hall, this is where delicate matters are discussed. The townhall is also used as a venue to perform traditional weddings. Unfortunately when I got there it was locked..I would have loved to share the interior view with you all.


I went to the farmlands..it's dry season and most people have harvested their crops but some were still left. The plant above is the cassava plant. When cassava is harvested it can be processed into different products like garri, loi loi,tapioka and so on.
Garri

Loiloi

The weather was so hot so I decided to get something cold to drink from a shop closeby.

This guy sells so many things.. Wow.

I was about retiring for the day when a friend told me of a wrestling competition going on in a nearby community. I wasn't going to miss out on it so I went there for a little entertainment . I must say it was fun. The defending champion was able to keep his title at the end of the day's fight. The festival lasts for a week.

Since I was close to a family friend's house I decided to have fun and take some pictures.

And finally, I arrived at my destination.

Sort:  

Thank you for taking part in this months #culturevulture challenge. Good Luck.

Thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58986.04
ETH 2580.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53