My 2018 - This is my hobby: Running, like hell.

in #my20187 years ago

images(4).jpg

If you ever heard someone say that, their most prized possession is their running sneakers, you would probably think they were crazy. But, yeah! what's a hobby, if you are not crazy about it?

I love running, i know that, this is a sport to some people, and a form of exercise to some others, but running means more than that to me, I don't know if I could ever do without it. In fact, nowadays, if a day passes without me running, I feel sick. Yeah, it's that intense. I run in the morning, at evening , on some Nights, and on crazy days, at noon. I think I might be addicted, but it's worth it. I would not want to be addicted to anything else. Okay, maybe except healthy eating.

My love for running was birthed as far back as 2007. When I was eleven years old, my parents shipped me off to a boarding school. A place where every activity is planned, timed, and followed promptly. Amongst the other activities, 2 hours in the mornings of Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays was scheduled for Sports. A period of time when students engage in all forms of exercising. During this period, I would engage in most of the activities on the field , but take to running on the tracks at some point. As time went by, it became the only activity that I wanted to engage in, during sports time. Much later, I joined the school's sports team, and though I never represented the school at any Inter-school competitions, my passion for running as a sport grew immensely.

Running is like a therapy session to me, this is the time that I take to process my thoughts, evaluate matters and make decisions, reflect on past actions, give myself constructive criticism, and take mental notes of things. That feeling of the rushing wind against my skin, the perspiration from the heat, the rhythm with which my body moves, the sound of my feet against the ground, and the calculated breath that I take, all make me feel wonderfully relaxed, and in my zone. And when I'm done with a session, the feeling of accomplishment leaves me feeling motivated and set for the day.

Running is a hobby I enjoy doing alone, Sometimes, my music is all the company I need. It could be fun, singing along, and running at the pace of the beat of the song. But then, there are times when I just want peace and quiet, that helps my mind work more effectively. Running has become such a huge part of my life that the people around me are influenced by it. When I'm visiting my siblings, they sometimes go on a run with me, we take this time to talk about the current happenings in our lives, laugh at our mistakes, gossip about our friends, and have fun generally. The school campus is one of my running locations, and there is always a handful of runners, I have become acquainted with them, and we sometimes run in groups.

Two years back, my friend told me about the sports team my school was putting up, and I indicated interest. I eventually joined the team and opted to do marathons and sprints. Being part of the team was fun, training sessions were a work over for me, and it felt good to do what I love, and be recognized for it. Competitions within and outside the school was just another day on the track for me. I am happy to say that, doing what I love has fetched me satisfaction, affluence, and a Certain level of income.

There have been times when I felt down and out , and life got in the way of me engaging in the sport. Like that time when my knee joint developed severe pain and made even walking difficult. The doctor blamed it on the excessive pressure put on the knee whilst running. I had to stay away from the tracks for a while, for my knee to heal. But like every set-back should be handled, I got back on the tracks after a while of missing running like hell. Somehow my body adjusted to my will.

One of the benefits I've had from running is being healthy and fit. This is because it is a form of exercise for the body. Exercising can never be overemphasized and whatever from of it is gainful to the body. The perspiration is a form of excretion, necessary in the detoxification of the body. The activity burns unwanted fat in the body, and dead skin cells are being removed.

Running is a big part of me, and I love all the craze associated with my hobby. I love it when I'm blinded by the sweat from my face, and I have to stop for a minute or two, to regain my sight. I love it when I pass people on the tracks at a greater pace, and make them feel like they are not running fast enough. I love the feeling of accomplishment I get after a long run. I love the feeling I get when I am admired by other runners, wishing they could commit to the sport like I do. I love running in new areas of the town, and I love running at places I'm familiar with, knowing each landmark, even with my eyes closed. I love running really early, with no one in sight, spreading my arms out and feeling like I am flying. I love the pain from cramped muscles after a long session. I love how friendly the sport is, how runners greet each other with a double clap, when they pass each other on the track. I love talking about running as a sport. I love everything about running.

Sort:  

great post !i would say that that would be ne of my hobbies too ... kinda into that haha.. wwould you plese check out mine ?! i would appreciate it a LOT My2018!!

Thanks for reading. I'll check it out.

Thank you

running is needed for health

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61986.20
ETH 2421.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63