My 2018: A tour around my town: Choba Village, in Nigeria...Africa.

in #my20187 years ago

IMG_20180131_184113.jpg

Okay, I happened to come across this contest and I found it totally amazing. I have been following anomadsoul for a while now but I haven't been opportune to join any of his contests.

I live in a Village called Choba that is situated in Portharcout city, Rivers state, Nigeria.
I am not originally from here but I have stayed here for so long that it now feels like home.
It is a place with a rich history and culture.
Choba village was a place where major battles took place during the Nigerian Biafra civil war and it still has some of the remnants of the War.
In the series of pictures I took I tried to show some of these remnants, with a little note attached to it.

Before the pictures start to roll in, I would like to say that I took this tour on the 31st of january and there was strong harmattan winds in the air, but that not withstanding, it turned out to be very exciting; much more than I had expected.

IMG_20180131_184553.jpg
I decide to start with the more mudane sceneries of the town and move to the more relaxing ones later.
The picture above shows a burnt car from the War and it has since been preserved as a tourist attraction.

IMG_20180131_183507.jpg
This picture shows the building that was used to treat the casualties of the war.

IMG_20180131_182713.jpg
The picture above is a mortuary that was also used during the war and it is still in use.

IMG_20180131_185411.jpg
The picture above shows a building that was used to take care of pregnant women during the fight. I find it amusing that the married people still found out time to make love through all the shelling and shooting. This building is also still in use.

IMG_20180131_183226.jpg
This picture above shows one of the many fields that was used to train the soldiers.
From what I heard, a lot of children were conscripted into the army those days.

IMG_20180131_185014.jpg
The building behind me are one of the many buildings that never got to be completed due to the fighting.

IMG_20180131_185648.jpg
So I went out of the war sites and off to a bustling motor park in the village. It captures the everyday people.

This post wouldn't be complete if I don't include a picture of the market. It is one of the most vibrant place in the village and it always feels like everyone has something to sell.

PicsArt_02-01-01.04.17.jpg
This is probably the busiest part of the village.
It comes alive very early in the morning and stays awake long after dusk.

PicsArt_02-01-01.23.08.jpg

Finally I took a brief stop at the kitchen to take a picture of this beautiful pot of egusi soup.
PicsArt_02-01-01.23.08.jpg
PicsArt_02-01-01.29.58.jpg

This is one of the many delicacies in this village.

I hope you enjoyed the pictures I just shared with you and the stories with it. Have a beautiful day.
I want to give big shout out to @blocktrades because I hear you are a huge part of the success of this " My 2018: A tour around my town contest, with 100 SBD in Prizes".
Thanks a lot.
This post was made on the 1st of February by me.

If you like this post and you would like to read more from me, then you can follow me @kamalkennedy.
Do well to join the contest if you can. For me it has been incredibly exciting.
Love you all.

Sort:  

Thank you for taking part in this months #culturevulture challenge. Good Luck.

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Kennedy this is really brilliant!! Ashi a dikwa egu!! Kudos👏👏

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57960.12
ETH 2482.73
SOL 155.31
SBD 2.43