My 2018: A tour around my town😊

in #my20186 years ago

Port-Harcourt city is my city! I've lived here since I was 2 years old and i have to say,I love it here! The people,The skyline,The food (oh especially the food),it's all amazing😊. I've wanted to show you guys PH city for a longggg time;now that the opportunity has come along,Let me show you my city through my eyes.
maxresdefault.jpg
Port-Harcourt in the daytime,a view from a helicopter.
portharcourt.jpg
Port-Harcourt international airport,Port-Harcourt in the evening.
The skyline is just gorgeous;i particularly love to view the city from genesis deluxe cinemas. The building is so high,you can see so much from that height. While the city may not have particular landmarks as other cities do,it does have a lot of tall buildings which are characteristic of cities. It's breath taking,the city comes alive in the night time,people going out,people hurrying back home,people trying to buy things,people everywhere you go!
lam5.jpg-744-575ddb975467f.jpg
Hustle and Bustle in one of Port-Harcourt's hottest spots Lamborgini.

Food
The food is a blend of many Nigerian cultures;there's literally nothing you can't find here. The indigens of the city still have a firm hold though when it comes to food. Their classic dishes such as fresh fish and snail soup,roasted plantain,yam and fish with a spicy,oily sauce is also a favourite;in Ikwerre,it's called 'bole',and many many more.
images.jpg
Bole!!!! Food of life!
dab-suya-spice.png

Food however has evolved over the years,there's now a blend of food from different cultures;the combinations are enjoyed by most people and has been accepted as a way of life.
Some of my favourite combinations include: Ugba and snail (ugba is the thinly sliced fruit of the oil bean tree and is indigenous to the Igbos), white rice and egusi soup (this is a Yoruba delicacy slowly being accepted here),roasted thinly sliced spiced beef called suya(this is a Hausa delicacy which has come from the North to all parts of Nigeria,Port-Harcourt included).

Scenery at my school-University of Port-Harcourt
upth1-2105-57b6760f4f84e.jpg
Although my home is deeper within the city,my school however is at the outskirts of Port-Harcourt. It's beautiful around here too,i don't have nearly enough pictures to show you round,but at least i have two,and 2 is better than none...
20180129_203505.jpg
That's the lawn before the House Officers Quarters in my school.
I can go on and on,but I think at this point,I've been able to show you one or two great things about my city. Thank you @anomadsoul for this wonderful challenge,I feel fulfilled today and now,imma go rest😎.

Sort:  

Thank you for taking part in this months #culturevulture challenge. Good Luck.

Thank you!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66507.45
ETH 3328.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69