My 2018- A tour Around My City

in #my20186 years ago

I just want to say a big thank you to @anomadsoul for this competition.
My 2017 had its ups and downs but this is a new year, 2018 and I do want to make it the best ever.
I live in a place known as Abeokuta, in Ogun State Nigeria. It is a beautiful place and quite peaceful.
Don’t get me wrong I don’t mean there are no crimes but it’s not that bad actually. It’s one of the best places you can live especially if you want to have peace and not much of stress when going and coming back from work.
It’s not as big as Lagos State, the former capital of Nigeria but I still love it, it is my hometown.
Abeokuta is also a tourist center with the famous Olumo Rock.

C5C6C6B1-E260-4845-81B3-E46C6746E99F.jpeg

Legend has it that no one has ever fallen down from it while climbing, it’s surprising but it’s quite true. Olumo Rock is where the ancient people of Egba, a tribe in the Yoruba land which is one of the major ethnic groups in Nigeria his during the time of war, it’s from there the name Abeokuta was coined. Abeokuta meaning ‘under the rock’.
The place has now been modernized to make it easier for tourist to climb especially if they don’t want to go through the ancient scary route that has been said. I One has ever fallen from.
There is as well a shrine where the Oba(king) comes once in a year for sacrifices.
Also apart from this there is the famous Olusegun Obasanjo Presidential Library built by former Two time president (one as a military dictator and one as a civilian) Chief Olusegun Obasanjo.
It has an amusement park, cinema, mini stadium, an hotel, a library, a zoo, it even has its own rock but not as high as the Olumo Rock and Also a bamboo groove for relaxation and enjoyment, also a museum of ancient artifacts.
There are cinemas in Abeokuta and one is the famous Cultural centre where a lot of programmers have been held and you can decide to go watch a movie with friends and family.
One beautiful place in Abeokuta is Oke-Ilewo, which is like the center of Abeokuta. There is virtually no where you can’t locate from the place and almost everything you need is centered there.
It also houses one of if not the tallest building in Abeokuta, OPIC Towers and beside it is where the famous Shoprite is undergoing construction and close to it also is Zone2 where is you like meat, the best su ya meat you can find is being sold.

EF39E1EA-B2B7-4BC9-9229-24FF8D7372B7.jpeg

DAE9587F-0CA4-4638-9AA8-3BA1810A0C36.jpeg

FF158C63-F178-4D0E-9CC0-BBB6FC4806E2.jpeg

AD0D1B87-DF66-4A26-A0BF-8CC91433573E.jpeg

There are lots of eatries around it as well. Banks are all close by too.
The biggest mental facility soo far is even located in Abeokuta, the Neuropsychiatric Hostipal Aro Abeokuta, which also has a sub branch in lantoro part of Abeokuta.
Markets are also much available, there is Omida, sapon, panseke, even lafenwa. These are places where you can get a lot of materials and goods that you need, most especially salon where you can get clothing materials.
We Yorubas have a lot of delicacies too, there is Amala, Eba which are local delicacies which can be eaten with efo riro, egusi etc. there is even pounded yam, Ewa Alagbado which can be eaten with plantain. Moin moin and Eli is another delicacy which can be enjoy led or rather you can even decide to take it with pap or custard.

One thing particular when it comes to our food is the Nigeria jollof rice, trust me you just need to smell it and you will be craving for it all year round.

F4DB9384-2FE1-4FF1-8530-7D2B3E73CFCE.jpeg

I myself haven’t been everywhere in Abeokuta because there are soo many places to go. My city to me is the best and I would love people to come and experience my city.
Thank you for reading and I would be expecting as much people to come and take a tour of Abeokuta themselves and see it for their eyes. They say seeing is believing and that is what I want you to do and I would expectil positive feedbacks after visiting especially taking a tour to Olumo Rock.

Sort:  

Thank you for taking part in this months #culturevulture challenge. Good Luck.

Thank you very much.. I appreciate alot

Brother I'm following you. I learnt so much about Nigeria and your hometown Abeokuta . The Chicken and rice looks good and got me cravin without even smelling. Bless up Bredda!

Haha.. thank you... I do hope you come for a visit 😁

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61414.81
ETH 2984.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46