You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My 2018: A Tour Around My Town and A Free Invitation from the Lucky One

in #my20186 years ago (edited)

Great post, welcome to Steemit

Not as a criticism, but as an observation, it is common when people talk about their "local culture" to show a bunch of folks dancing around in some type of legacy "native dress".

Everyone does the same. USA, Europeans, Canadians, etc.

But that isn't really local culture. Local culture is:

  • does your society tolerate thugs and hoodlums
  • what is the level of crime you have? what level of crime do you tolerate? Do you respect the first responders who you put on the front line?
  • what level of corruption does your society tolerate?
  • do you believe in rule of law, or do you believe in crony capitalism?
  • do you have an honest press that reports the facts? or do you have fake news agencies who do puff pieces and dont focus on the facts

Those are the types of questions to answer, to define your local culture

Sort:  

Hi @davebrewer! Wow, that's a whole new learning for me. I will surely remember your points the next time I talk about my local culture. Thank you!

Have a great day ahead!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59634.64
ETH 2590.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47