My 2018 - This is my Hobby: MEDITATION

in #my20186 years ago

meditate.jpg

Many people find it difficult to meditate because of the noisy world we live in, people hardly think before they take a step in life, no wonder the world is filled with people who are LINGERING IN DISSATISFACTION, a lot of people with DEAD CONSCIENCE. Meditation most of the times come in handy when there is the need to solve pressing issues though there are other reasons for meditating.

Before proceeding with this post, i will like to appreciate the effort of @anomadsoul who put this contest together, you can also participate before it closes by checking out the full details and requirements for joining here

I know you might be wondering where this post might be leading to, well the thing is; i have this weird and unusual habit which is also my hobby, I love doing it all the time and I find pleasure, satisfaction and peace doing it, and that is MEDITATING

I solely believe every man is a born and potential problem solver and so

Life should not be a field of agony
every man is a potential ENTREPRENEUR thus; a manager of his life and his environment. But how can a man solve his problem without finding time to meditate, how can he know the step to take If he doesn't think about it first. In short mediation is a way of ACTIVATING and UNLOCKING one's INNER RESOURCES and STRENGTH.Let's go down the road and see what my hobby is all about.

Definition

Meditation is a process whereby an individual activates, enhance the mind or induce a mode of consciousness either to achieve some set goals, build the internal energy or life force, develop compassion, generosity and love, patience and forgiveness etc. Or it can be a way of deactivating the mind from thinking about something.
Now from the definition, we can see that meditation is of two forms which are :
a) meditating to think about something
b) meditating so as not to think about something.

MEDITATING SO AS TO THINK ABOUT SOMETHING

Most people meditate so as to think about ways to solve issues they are being faced with, the moment they begin to meditate on that particular issue, many things relating to that issue will spring up in their mind and solutions will pop up while still meditating on it. Some people meditate fast but most people are slow meditators; what a Great GOD we serve to have given us this little organ called brain which activates the mind in doing all this.
Some people meditate on nature and that is what makes most writers excel in their field, this also help in appreciating the GREATEST OF ALL SCIENTISTS "THE CREATOR" himself who has made and placed everything where it needs to be and that is why I sometimes wonder how a small piece of rock will hold a big rock in place for years, how the sun, the moon and the stars are arranged. This form of meditation is divided into two types which are

  1. Religious or reflective meditation: Buddhist monks as we all know meditate a lot and that is why they construct their buildings (monastery) close to nature. This monks find it easy to meditate and thus pray silently without disturbance. It should be noted that not only monks do this, those who are not monks also participate in this exercise and it helps to connect to the spiritual realm and appreciate MOTHER NATURE.
  2. psychological mode of meditation: this is the reason why most people meditate; it helps them to find solutions to problems.

sunset-3156440_960_720.jpg

MEDITATION SO AS NOT TO THINK ABOUT SOMETHING.

Some people meditate so as not to think about anything, or something that is making them not to feel at ease, for example if someone has offended me and am getting hot due to my anger level, I can calm myself down by meditating, not thinking about what that person has done to me. This form of mediation is also for relaxing the mind and body.
This form of meditation is the most difficult as the world is so noisy and even THE GRAVEYARDS ARE NOT SILENT AS THE DEAD ARE EITHER CRYING OR THE MICROORGANISMS DECAYING THEIR BODY ARE SHOUTING IN JOY.
having gone through this, now let's take a look at the advantages of meditation which are as follows:

1)Builds self-confidence
2)Resolve phobias & fears
3)Helps control own thoughts
4)Helps with focus & concentration
5)Increase creativity
6)Increased brain wave coherence.
7)Improved learning ability and memory.
8)Increased feelings of vitality and rejuvenation.
9)Increased emotional stability.
10)improved relationships
11)Mind ages at slower rate
12)Easier to remove bad habits
13)Develops intuition
14)Helps ignore petty issues
15)Increased ability to solve complex problems
16)Purifies your character
17)Develop will power
18)greater communication between the two brain hemispheres
19)react more quickly and more effectively to a stressful event.
20)increases one’s perceptual ability and motor performance
21)higher intelligence growth rate
22)Increased job satisfaction
23)increase in the capacity for intimate contact with loved ones
24)decrease in potential mental illness
25)Better, more sociable behavior
26)Less aggressiveness
27)Helps in quitting smoking, alcohol addiction
28)Reduces need and dependency on drugs, pills & pharmaceuticals
In short all the advantages cannot be written.

Now that we know the advantages of meditating then the next question should be how do I meditate???
Well meditation is not difficult as long as one can move away from noise and be focused, switch off phones and every other device that can distract one, sit down comfortably and close your eyes. The practice of YOGA is the best way to meditate but nevertheless, one can meditate without practicing yoga.

Using some of the guides given by @anomadsoul, i will like to expatiate more on my hobby

Why do you fell passion about your hobby?

well I feel so passionate for this hobby of mine cos I want the best for muself and the people around me, I want to make changes in the world, I want to influence, I want to be extra-ordinary. So I chose this hobby and at the same time, the hobby chose me.

How did you picked this hobby? Or better yet, how did this hobby picked you?

like I have explained before, I chose this hobby because of my believe in the fact that I can bring out the best in me and in others.

How long have you been doing it...? Are you learning more and more every day?

I started about 3 years ago, though not too long. My past life was not a reality, I have lived a fake life depending on people around me. So three years ago, I discovered the need for meditation and after that, I have taken it up as an hobby.

What is is that you love about this hobby? Do you like it because you are good at it? Do you love it because it takes away the stress? Do you enjoy it because it is challenging?

I love it cos it pivots me to reality and makes me better each time, getting answers to mysteries of life.

When do you practice it? Is it part of your daily life or do you have to go out of your routine to be able to do it?

I practice it daily. around 6pm in the evening depending on the time i return back home from the activities for that day. But i love to do it in the evening so as to reflect on how I have spent the day and how to improve on the activities of the next day.

Is it something you share with someone else or is this hobby YOUR thing and you do it by yourself?

It is spmething I love to recommend for people who will love to do it because I know everyone needs it.

What is going on in your mind when you do it?

believe me, series of thoughts come to my mind each time I do it, but the bottom line is that; I get solutions to challenges each time i do it.

Is your hobby a priority? Does practicing takes away time with your family or partner? Do you have it high on your priority list or is it not that important compared to family and friends?

Well there is nothing as important as loved ones, so it does not tame me into isolation beyond the reach of families and friends but they respect my privacy.

Is your hobby expensive? Do you spend a lot of money when you practice it? What sacrifices you make to be able to practice your hobby?

my hobby is so cheap, just that I spend a lot of time because that is what is required.

Are you an amateur? An adept? An expert? What makes the differences between them? Does it depend only on skills or do you also need tools or equipment to become better?

I will like to say I am an amateur cos I know I can still develop skills which I can learn from the monks who are the best in meditating.

Are you lucky enough that, is your hobby part of your job?

well my hobby is not a part of my work as a student, but it helps me as a student

If you would have to explain your hobby to an alien, how would you do it?

there is a saying that seeing is believing and i also know that you learn best from experience. For me to explain to an alien, I would prefer to show it to the alien by doing it in his front.

How lovely will it be if everyone in the world can take my hobby as their own hobby too.

Sort:  

Hey good Post!!! please cheack out mine ...my2018!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63122.96
ETH 2686.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57