My 2018: Welcoming the new year - One of the two million possible stories

in #my20186 years ago (edited)

We just passed the new year, 2019 and we received a challenge, or even more, a contest! Another one of the series proposed by @anomadsoul and generously supported by @blocktrades. It's an opportunity that should not be missed, so my story goes about how I went through the new year!

One of the two million possible stories about the 2019 New Year's Eve in Bucharest, Romania!


Source:Gif no.1
My story, how and with whom I went in 2019. I have to warn it was one of the most common parties, in fact, it was not a party, nothing spectacular ... just life, as it happened. Still, I hope and I think my story will present you a bit of the customs and the way of celebrating the transition into the new year in this part of the world.

A constant and a characteristic of holidays and parties in Romania is food. Making a lot of food! Food and drink. Every time, Christmas and New Year means food and drink ... at home, at relatives, friends, restaurants or cottages. I remember youth, then parties meant more music, dancing and drinking, less food ... because it wasn't.

This year I celebrated with my wife and her sister. The kids grew up and went to parties, our friends, our few friends left the country or they preferred to stay home. So it's now that I have the most quiet end of the year since I remember.

Preparations

I like to stay home during the winter holidays. From convenience and because we get older. The unpleasant part of the home party, when you are the host, is that you have to make the necessary preparations.

Cleanliness!

Here my wife is at the forefront. Though not seen, I also had my share of ... action!

The food!

We chose to do something a little easier because will eat late at night.

Carrot and celery salad as well as boeuf salad. Here I worked the most because I had to put the vegetables on the chisels, cook them and cut them into small pieces. Meat the same.

bqmjgusgc2.jpg

ekc22f98io.jpg

jtdumh1kip.jpg

Here I stopped, my wife continued, knows how to prepare better.

whlkql7wmh.jpg

bqgbe8g9k6.jpg

I put the chicken steak in the oven. Nothing easier!

miztreft0h.jpg

I made more salads and other light meals because the Christmas table was very loaded with meat and can no longer eat so concentrated.

zsr7ir9xad.jpg

At the end of the preparations a coffee is obligatory. I hope to help resist sleeping as late as possible. In the past few years, the preparations have been long and tiring, and that's why at midnight I have been asleep.

l3eaip1dxb.jpg

A good friend who left the country for a holiday in Turkey (but wanted to be with us) sent us a gift basket. With champagne and fine wines. One way to be with us.

0mwwmsb88o.jpg

Well, slowly time passed, I finished preparations and ate less, much less than we prepared.

Well, slowly, time passed, we finished the preparations and a little, much less than I prepared. I really don't like to remember about food. Rest, that's what I needed. I sat down for a glass of wine and told about the year that was just lasting. There are good moments when you can make a balance. So I was able to appreciate what was the characteristic of this year for us and we realized with astonishment that it was a year when we were very busy!

That's how we realized it was a year that we've traveled a lot, we've been away from home for more than three months! Very much, we leave home at most two to three weeks a year. But there is an explanation, in 2018 the pension period started ...

The transition into the new year I did it quietly and calmly, even lazy, finally a little lazy. Champagne!

8u64zwbomc.jpg

That's how the new year came over us. It always comes with hope for something better! It is good tonight to believe that it will.


Source

We live in a very quiet neighborhood on the edge of a big city. Every year, this night of the new year, the neighborhood is invigorating. This is another habit here in Romania. I think it's the same way all over the world, yet I do not have confirmation and certainty. Everybody makes noise !!! A way to show the joy that they have come to pass in the new year.

Fireworks, firecrackers and many other
"noise-making devices": kids, wives, friends, dogs and cats ... everything !!!!!!

These noisy events actually announce the end of ... the beginning! In ten minutes everything is quiet and we all come to our homes. We go back to stories and watch TV. Not for long because the fatigue of the preparations amplified by the glasses of wine and champagne drink and the sleep comes to send us to bed.

xai0hg3pti.jpg

This was a brief presentation of a way to celebrate the end of the old year and the transition to the new year. A way of celebration made by one of more than two million inhabitants of Bucharest, capital of Romania.

Probably it's typical for the older, 60 years old, as in our case. Normal and calm people. There are other examples of energetic celebrations, when the participants don't take into account age ... each is unique and manifests in the way it feels. I wanted to show this way, this was the way it happened this year. Who knows how it will be next year?

I wish everyone a Happy New Year! I wish you good health and beautiful life. Now is the time to become reality.

8lpcxsnkt4.jpg

Happy New Year!

steemit-border
Posted using eSteem Surfer
steemit-border

Sort:  

Ahhh...every new year starts with big bang fireworks...without it the celebration never ends. It was a lovely 2018 ending celebrating at home is the best thing one could do ..fun enjoyment altogether

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes of course. Thank you and the best for 2019!

Happy New Year, Dan! @bluemoon This is absolutely one of my favorite posts of yours! The GIFs we're such a happy piece to put in there and I like to repost the have reality in real life part of them.

I am pretty sure that the sound firecrackers and but seems like gunfire but it's not is a common way to welcome in the new year and say goodbye to the old. At least that is what I am used to. Our neighborhood sets off their own fireworks for about an hour so if you are lucky enough to stay at home and have a nice celebration from there oh, you get to enjoy a full scale firework show. The truth of the matter is, most celebrations take longer to prepare then the celebration is. I can attest to that. I liked the picture of your wife vacuuming and I really enjoy the entire post. The fact that you stayed home and have a quiet celebration, I I'm a little bit jealous. That sounds like a wonderful time, even if it is not the same as what you are used to with all the noise and hoopla!

A most wonderful post that I am taking home with me. I really enjoyed reading this and I hope that some of my readers you also!

Upped and steemed

!tip

Happy New Year, Denise! I'm very glad you liked and thanks for the reblog. As usual, you've read the story very carefully and pinpoint what's most important. I am delighted to see that part of what is happening in Romania is happening at your home, on holidays.

Thank you! Yes! We do have that in common! It is a huge celebration and everyone stays up and drinks champagne and gets tired after the clock strikes 12! Nothing different from here!

I raise my glass to 2019~!!

Yes! I raise the glass too! Now let's see what 2019 will do for us.

Something good! I can feel it!

It's a general optimism I do not want to contradict!

Congratulations @bluemoon! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 4750 replies. Your next target is to reach 5000 replies.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Oh yes, fireworks and noise like hell. 😀 - same here.
I read somewhere that this is typical for the Balkan countries.

That's what I thought, but my girlfriend, Denise, says that it's the same in her hometown, in Washington DC.

🎁 Hi @bluemoon! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Market Friday Goes Into The Woods Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

It's always my pleasure!

You got a 28.49% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @bluemoon!

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 15 SBD and the respective amount in Steem.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Congratulations @bluemoon! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 29000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 30000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Thanks for counting!

Hi, @bluemoon!

You just got a 0.08% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

A very Happy New Year to you! I think it is going to be a great year for all of us!

I really like your optimism, thank you!

It's the only way to make it though the down days! 😀

Yes, of course!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 61240.20
ETH 3247.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45