My 2018 - This is my Hobby: Reading, Swimming, and Gathering With Friends

in #my20186 years ago

In our lives in this world, there is something sad that we have to go through and also there will be activities that we continue to do every day because the activity can give us pleasure and can make us forget about the problems that afflict us. Daily activities and we continue to do repeatedly we refer to as hobbies.

In a large Indonesian dictionary, the word hobby means "pleasure, things are done in my spare time" after struggling with the main job. From the above meanings, means that we can understand that the hobby is as a way to make the mind calm from the chaos of life.

Everyone has a diverse hobby or not the same, some like to climb mountains, swim, traveling to various places, reading, doing sports, photography, writing, and various other activities very much.

Among some examples of hobbies that I mentioned above, there are two activities that I like to swim and read. However, there is one more activity that I really like, that is gathering with friends. In this article, I want to discuss the three hobbies, the reason why I really like them, and the early history of why all three could be my preferred hobby.

  • Swimming.

I was born in a small village named Gampong Mesjid, in the sub-district of Syamtalira Aron, North Aceh. For information, this region is one of the areas inhabited by a senior steemit users. My village is flanked by a river filled with the history of Islamic civilization, namely Krueng Pasee. And the location of my house is not far from the flow of Krueng Pase.

The river that continues to flow throughout the year and become a source of community life who lives nearby also as the first place, I learned to swim. It was my father who first gave swimming lessons when I was in elementary school. As a child, I often bathe in the river starting in the morning when my parents wash clothes, and also in the afternoon.

swim with my friends

Since elementary school, when first learning to swim I continued to hone my swimming ability, I also have the courage to swim even when the river was overflowing or many. In my opinion, swimming is not just a pleasure but it can provide a positive impact on health such as breathing exercises, can increase muscle strength, and also elevate the body.

At this time, although I've lived away from home, I keep doing swimming activities. However, when I returned to the village, I also never forget to reminisce The first place I was taught to swim by my father. Thank you, dad, thank you krueng pase river full of history because it has taught me one of these very fun sports.

  • Reading.

I will not know about the contest MY 2018 - This is My Hobby initiated by @anomadsoul if I do not read the article, meaning reading makes us know and understand what we do not yet know in the world. Starting from the smallest things up to something big. Reading is the gates of science.

book by Dr. Husaini Hasan

My love for the world of reading begins to appear when still in elementary school, at that time I remember the books that I often read is the book of the history of Aceh and Indonesia. The books I got from my mother who had a job as a teacher. Regarding the first time where I could read, I have forgotten. But, certainly, I've been good at spelling out the word as well as in primary school.

My love for the world of reading growing as I entered to an Islamic boarding school in Lhokseumawe. There, I had to adapt to the new environment, new friends coming from distant areas are also different. Fortunately, the majority of my friends also have the same hobby, that is reading, so we always exchange reading materials.

There I also began reading novels, story books, and biography books. However, history books especially the history of Aceh, Aceh war, as well as a book written by former GAM combatants be my favorite book. Lately, I'm reading a book about the story of the struggle of GAM members written by Dr. Husaini M. Hasan.

For me, reading is a pleasure that is very pleasant, we do not need to buy tickets at a high cost to travel around the world, just by reading we've been in a very remote place. In fact, we can go back to the past, and more importantly, reading can make an insight and our knowledge becomes widespread, even wider than the universe.

  • Gathered With Friends.

After graduating from elementary school, I went to an Islamic boarding school. Six years I spent there, six years also I am far from family, who replaced my family's position were friends coming from different regions.

Six years is certainly not a short time, we go through each phase together. Either in a state of happiness or in a state of sadness. The circumstances that make the connection between me with friends who live in the dorm becomes more closely and meaningfully.

when gathered with friends

When the time comes, we must split up and start the path to a bright future, heavy to part with a myriad of stories we have noted. But that is the essence of life. Getting out of the dorm is not the end of our relationship story, we often hold meetings in spare time.

Gathering with them is a happy thing, can discuss various things, nostalgic with time, sharing stories about life now, and do not forget to open the old book about the most enjoyable experience and the most miserable while in the dorm.

There are compelling reasons that make me love hanging out with friends, the reason is I do not want every drop of time that we've gone through in the dorms to be lost just because we no longer live together. I do not want tears that fall when dry farewell dinner meaningless.

Especially I do not want the familiarity that once existed become tenuous even embarrassed to say hello. I also do not want reneges on a pledge that we say together during the seconds before parting. I do not want it to be lost from memory.

  • Closing.

that's three hobbies, three pleasures that often adorn my days. Swimming, reading, and gather with friends is an uncomfortable activity and I am very happy to be able to share a story about my hobby to all of you.

Special thanks to @anomadsoul who has created MY 2018 - This is My Hobby

Follow @azissuloh

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59634.42
ETH 3191.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45