MY 2018: WELCOMING THE NEW YEAR - NIGHT AND DAY.

in #my20186 years ago (edited)

MY NEW YEAR CELEBRATION:


We don't really have specific traditions when it come to celebrating the new year. We usually just decide on the spot where we're gonna chill as a family until midnight. After that my brothers and I go out with friends. This year it was different though, both the brothers are abroad, and momz had special prayers to attend that day and night. So only pops and I were chillin together, until around 9 PM of the 31st

We chilled the whole day until around 9 PM of the 31 st, after which I left him, and made my way to meet some of my friends at the designated place.

So yeah, at 9 I made moves to a friend's house. He'd offered it as where we could pregame, and most importantly, fill our bellies in preparation of the heavy drinking that would ensue. And having contributed 12$ worth of Rwandan francs, you can bet I wouldn't hold back.

IMG_20190106_055458.jpg


Just the appetizers.


Still appetizers.

We(The gamers.) were actually supposed to get there between 6pm and 8pm, so we could have a couple of fifa and nba tournaments, before dancing and mingling time. But due to unforeseeable reasons, and some more foreseeable ones such as African timing, by the time most of us got there the dancefloor was already lit. It's all good though, I'll show them next time.

First thing I did once I got there was greet those that had already arrived. What followed after that was quite the predictable cycle. Shots, mingle, dance and then munchies. Repeat cycle until midnight when we all gathered for a short toast, and the host finally opened Hennessy bottle. After that people scattered around the compound to make calls to family and friends. And then, the aforementioned cycle resumed.

Around 3 AM, we finally left the compound and this is when things start getting blurry. We went to the Kigali Heights mall, one of those fancy malls where they have nightclubs and bars that are expensive af upstairs, and liquor stores that are cheap af downstairs. So as much as I don't remember much from there, I can guarantee we moved up and down a dozen times. We always do. My memory becomes clearer between 6 and 7 AM. At that time we were deciding where to go next, and we chose the Portefino hotel, where they host a "free" after party every new years.


Whole place was filled within an hour.

It was dope. The scenery was beautiful, everybody was in a partying mood and I got to meet many friends I hadn't seen in ages. One of my highlights from there was when we started playing soccer by the pool. And yes, many people were mingling there so we pretty much had to go around them when playing. Though more and more just kept joining the game. Another highlight was when I tried to do some fancy trick with the ball but failed miserably and fell on my sorry drunk derrière.

For an instance I had just become the life of the party, but this random dude had to still my spotlight when he fell in the pool fully clothed while trying to rescue the ball. Smh


#nsfw #soccersouvenir

STILL MAKING MOVES:

But all good things must come to an end. Around 10 we started scattering, some went home and others went to party somewhere else. I didn't go home. I went to another bar called Chomad where some other friends were having coctails. I joined them, indulged and ordered myself some fries. We chilled there for about an hour till we were told it was time to go.

Next up was Mamba. Another bar/restaurant and to my knowledge, the only place in Kigali with a bowling alley. A friend was djing there and we thought we ought to go there and support her. I don't remember whether we actually met her, but I do remember we went crazy on the dancefloor and I normally don't even dance like that. lol After that it was time to head home for some more tequila and beers of course.


Smh

We stayed there conversing, shot takin and having some beers until 3 PM, after which we went to a friend's where we would hang for 2-3 hours before going to another party. But then the rain started falling(For 10 minutes or less.) and we all realized just how tired we were. We accepted that fact and called it quits. Some still went out after resting a bit though, not me.

Surprisingly, when I woke up I barely had a hangover or a headache. They only lasted for 30 minutes or less, but on the other hand I was sweating buckets. For real though, I would wipe my face and 10 seconds later it would be drenched again.


Right after the wipe off.

Nothing a cold shower couldn't fix though. All in all, this new years celebration was epic! But for now, I'll be taking a small break from alcohol and outings as that day was a bit too much. Besides, even if I wanted to the wallet wouldn't allow me. 😂

Anywho, that's how my new year celebration went, hope you enjoyed the recollection. In retrospect, I probably should have activated my actifit, I'm sure I would have reached at least 20k steps. lol And until next time,..

PEACE!!

REFERENCE:


Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ange.nkuru from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 23 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 3 SBD worth and should receive 138 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Hi @ange.nkuru!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.337 which ranks you at #19031 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 2060 places in the last three days (old rank 21091).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 233 contributions, your post is ranked at #149.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60189.57
ETH 3204.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44