My 2018 - This is my Hobby: Volunteerism

in #my20186 years ago (edited)

IMG_20160524_200656.jpg

Dear All,

Let me start this contest by introducing myself. Well, I am not yet a household name on Steemit, but I know time will change that very soon.

My name is Amaka from Nigeria, I joined this great platform on the 5th of February, 2018 & it's been fun all the way.

Yesterday, I was surfing through the contest section, searching for a contest that I can participate in when I saw this here I saw it as an opportunity to share my hobby with the world. Yes, I know there is a price to be won, but to me, it's not all about the SBD although I am seriously hoping to win wrinks

Now, let's get to the part where I talk about my hobby and tell you guys everything you need to know about what I love doing so let's ride!

Q What do I enjoy doing?

First of all, I don't know if this counts as a hobby, but I think it's better you read through then, you'd understand why I can comfortably say Volunteerism is my hobby & will remain my hobby as long as I have access to the Internet.

Volunteerism is the principle of donating time and energy for the benefit of other people in the community, a social responsibility rather than for any financial reward. Now, this may sound strange to a lot of people, but this is me and who I am.

I am so passionate about this that I can even do it at the middle of the night and someone might ask "where does she practice her hobby at night?" Now, let me explain;

There is a forum called Nairaland and here is also my Profile This forum is one of the biggest in Africa & the most indigenous visited site with over 55 million interest users corresponding to 32.9% of the entire population. This is where I spend my leisure and practice what I love doing. I signed up on Nairaland in October 11, 2012. There are different sections in the forum, but the section that I visit most is the job/vacancies. Here, I source for job adverts from recruiters then post it on the job section for wider coverage. I am so passionate about this because it makes feel fulfilled. Like I have achieved something in life. There is this joy I feel deep inside whenever I see jobseekers visiting the forum just because of the vacancies that I post on daily basis. I feel so happy. Please note, the traffic my posts brings to the site has nothing to do with me, as a matter of fact, the owner of the site gets richer by the day.

Screenshot_2018-03-20-01-15-40.png

Q How did I pick this hobby?

In Nigeria, unemployment is one of the major problems faced by the youths. I have some of my coursemates that we graduated together, but till this day, doesn't have a job as we speak.

Before now, I don't have a particular thing that I love doing in my leisure time. Yeah, I love singing, but not as passionate as volunteerism. I dislike reading, travelling and other hobbies people normally do. So, I said to myself "why don't you do something with what you love doing ?" The government has failed us when it comes to providing employments to the youths so I decided to help in my own little way. I am amongst the few people with a job, access to the Internet and a smartphone, that was how my passion for this hobby began. I am so thankful that I followed this part.

Q How long have I been doing it?

Just like I said earlier, I joined Nairaland in 2012, but didn't get to notice the job/vacancies section up until March 14, 2016. This is a site that I visit more than any other site in the world. I can visit maybe like 50 times a day, but haven't really gone to the job section.

One faithful day, I decided to check out that section. Did I mention that I am a bit popular on the site? Yes, I am! When, I wentthrough the section, I saw firsthand service to humanity. People would source for job vacancies then come back to the site and post it for other job seekrs to see it and apply. In my country, there is high rate of unemployment, posting job vacancies is a big deal. At that point in my life with the way I use my monthly data visiting Nairaland, I said to myself "how can you justify your data usage, what greater good have I achieved subscribing monthly for data" I had to put my data into good use so I began sourcing for job vacancies then post them. This year marks my 3rd year on the job section posting vacancies. As a matter of fact, I spend most of my time on that section. It does reduced my popularity on the site cause I stopped commenting on general topics and restricted myself post mostly on the job section, but I didn't care after all, I won't actually gain anything from been so popular on the whole site.

Screenshot_2018-03-20-00-30-22.png

Q What I love about my hobby?

Screenshot_2018-03-20-00-53-13.png

Screenshot_2018-03-20-01-12-42.png

Screenshot_2018-03-20-01-21-36.png

And this was my response to the third image:
Screenshot_2018-03-20-01-22-05.png

Screenshot_2018-03-20-01-10-14.png

And, I can go on and on! This what I love about my hobby. I love the testimonials from people. A lot of youths have been gainfully employed through my post. I am usually so happy each time I receive a mail from people telling me how they got employed from the job adverts . This brings me joy and fulfilment. I feel this is why I was created and probably have access to the Internet and a smartphone. I am so crazy about this, that I wake as early as 4am to post before going to work and any little chance I get at the office.

Now, this is the best part! The site is programmed in a way, you don't spam the site with lot of links and sometimes, I post those adverts with links of the site to apply for the job. And most times, I could get blocked maybe like 5 times in a day, but it has never stopped me. When ever such happens, I would send a mail to one of the moderators of the job section to help unblock me so I continue with what gives me joy

Screenshot_2018-03-20-00-48-28.png

Q When do I practice my hobby?

Everyday of my life. Since I joined Nairaland, I have made 17,562 posts & comments and I can beat my chest that at least 75% are posted job adverts

Screenshot_2018-03-20-01-15-40.png

Q Is my hobby expensive?

Nope! It's not expensive, it doesn't really cost me anything to do this. I already use the data for myself, just that I feel much better whenever I use my subscription to put a smile on someone's face. I get offers from some online users to join forces and open a website where we can make money from it at least with my popularity on the job section, this would sell, but I am not interested in making any gain out of this so I usually turn down such offers. And sometimes, I get offers from job seekers to subscribe at least my monthly subscription for a month, but i have never accepted such offers because I don't lack data to post.

Q Am I lucky to have this as my part time job?

Oh yes! I am more than lucky to have found this passion. It actually gave my life a meaning and a purpose so yes, I am blessed. And If I die today, I will definitely die in peace and you know why? I don't have any regrets.

Q How do I explain to Aliens about volunteerism?

This sounds funny! Well, maybe I would first of all, learn the basic language skills. If it seems impossible then, I will look for someone probably sitting idle and walk up to him and try to demonstrate with my hands, getting him not to worry (I must have done the job searching before now) Then, take him to the midst of the employed aliens and hand over a seat and a desktop. I'm not making sense right? LOL

This is my story about my hobby. The thing is, I love what I do and I'm so sorry it's too long. I just wanted to give all the details, I tried to make it as short as possible.

I want to say a very big thank you to @anomadsoul for creating such an amazing opportunity for people to share this with the rest of Steemians. You might not know this, but this really means a lot. Thank you very much! Cheers!

Thank you for reading & stopping by!!!

Sort:  

So glad you get so much joy as a volunteer :-)

Thanks! Thank you for reading

Love that you are a volunteer @ammyluv. And the joy you get from what you do for complete strangers.
May you be surrounded by more and more people doing for you as you do for others. May your hands be strengthened to do even more. And may your joy continually overflow.

Amen! I wish you same. Thank you so much

Wow, this is a great hobby and being a Nigerian too, I can testify to the fact that these job postings will be very much appreciated. Thumps up and keep up the good work.

Thank you so much. You know the situation of things in Nigeria, I just glad I could help in my own little way.

This is a wonderful "hobby" you have. May you be blessed abundantly for the service you render without asking anything in return. Please follow me on my new page @forgodsglory where I will post most of my Christian posts from now on. The page will also curate Christian posts.

Thank you so much. I appreciate your kind words. I have followed @forgodsglory

Keep it up with the good work!

Wow that's an amazing hobby. I hope there will be more people like you who enjoy that kind of hobby. 👍

Thank you so much for the encouragement. It means a lot.

And thank you for stopping by my post.

You're welcome. 😉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97