You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My 2018 - This is my Hobby: Exercising At The Gym

in #my20186 years ago

This reminds me a lot of myself. Except I was never fat.

But I hated sports. Still do. I got into food and later exercise for health reasons. I used to eat whatever, now I cook and eat healthy. And I lift. I tried the gym, and like you said I dropped after 2-3 months. More than twice. So I chose to home-train, bodyweight initially and then weights. And I like it now. And never missed a session for years.

Difference is, I understand what I'm doing. No one had even explained nutrition to me at the gym. I have to know why I'm doing something, otherwise it's really hard for me to do it. I'm still a home-trainer, didn't make the transition back to the gym. I just can't justify the waste of time, the time it would take me to get there, get back, wait by sweaty machines for others' turn, occasionally contract gastroenteritis, etc. :P

Don't you think spending 20-30 eurs a month on a gym membership is less than four psychoanalyst sessions?

Shhh. Abi and Erica and others of their ilk might hear you...

Sort:  

If I had the space and equipment I would probaly still keep home-training. Who knows, maybe when I get rich from steemit I'll manage to have my super duper home-gym!

And yes, I do waste time to get there and then back home, it's the parking space hunt that bothers me most (I don't live in the town but a village 4km away) but one good thing is, it is rarely crowded during the hours I visit it, so I have it almost for myself (and a couple of more people that happen to be around).

Do you think Abi and Erika will take it as an undermining of their job? :P

I'm of the opinion that every house currently being built should have a gym room. If there will be 4 people living in the house (parents + 2 kids), you're saving countless money long-term for all these gym memberships, and also avoiding pouring more gas into the atmosphere.

However, there might be things we can't predict. Cars can become environment-friendly, for instance. There are social aspects to the gym, that may be beneficial. And also the gym shoulders any cost of future equipment that you may be unable to shoulder yourself. It can always update itself quicker than you can, cos it spreads the cost to its members.

However, so many years have gone by and we're still doing the same lifts Schwarzenegger was doing!

I think we'll become robots before we figure out a fundamentally new way to train! :P

But who knows.

I think mostly it's just personality. Some people prefer the social environment of the gym, and some people can't bear to smell other people's sweaty armpits! :P

I could not agree more on a home-gym just because you can go there whenever you like, dressed however you like, train whichever way you llike. If only the equipment was not that expensive...

Personality plays a major role and at a gym you can always choose whether you want to enroll for aerobics, weight training, dance, martial arts or even personal training. So, I guess they have lots of people covered :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 59165.12
ETH 2617.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43