My Top 5 2017 Posts Challenge: Spirituality, Health, Steem, Hugelkultur, Raised Beds, and Growing Systems

in #my2017top57 years ago

I stumbled upon Steemit just this last October. I was made aware of this crazy platform from a friend @themyrrhmaid. At first, I was hesitant to jump in. It was an intriguing concept but I couldn't quite grasp its depth and potential on my initial inspection. I had plans to attempt building an audience on YouTube and Medium revolving around my homestead and permaculture work. But once the weight, power, and potential of Steem hit me, I chose to abandon everything else and dive all in here. It took some time to learn the ropes and plug into the amazing homesteading community, Homesteaders Online, but once I did, everything started clicking. I found so many great people doing amazing things all over the world. @mountainjewel being one of them, who nominated me to participate in @rocking-dave's challenge your-2017-top-5.

top5.jpg

Here are my personal top 5 posts from 2017!

5. Why I am an Atheist


In this post I walk readers through my spiritual journey of leaving Christianity and highlight the thoughts and conflicts that were monumental in shifting my spirituality.

4. Building a raised bed, hugelkultur keyhole garden


Building this raised bed was quite the undertaking, I'm glad I was able to share the unique experience and design with all of you, and that it was received so well.

3. Why I am a vegetarian


The vegan/vegetarian/omnivore/herbivore debate has been so heated the past few years. There was so much zeal and exaggeration, I wanted to speak to the issue from a levelheaded perspective and confront all the facts without inflating data to prove my point. This was my first post that gained any recognition, and the one that got me addicted to Steem. I still remember the moment I went to my blog and saw it at $70.00. At first, I was so excited thinking it was $0.70, I did a double take and nearly lost my lid.

2. Field Guide to Steemit: How it works and how to survive your first 30 days


It took me quite a bit of time to understand all the layers of Steem, and there wasn't a single source I could find that contained all the essential knowledge in human-readable form. So I created this giant post as a single resource to onboard new users. I had a lot of fun designing the graphics for this as well.

1. A system for growing 100% of your food: Part 1

download.jpg

Starting a garden from scratch can be overwhelming. With so many tools, methods, systems, and ideologies flowing around everywhere, I wanted to offer a consolidated plan that would aid homesteaders, gardeners, and market gardeners in planning, organizing, and structuring their food production. I gathered yields, calories, and protein data of all sorts of vegetables, grains, legumes, nuts and fruit, and designed a model that can start from a small backyard garden and scale up almost infinitely without much change in the system. This will continue to be the central concept that I work through for years to come, as I trial, improve and build upon it.


Thanks again @mountainjewel for the nomination! I'm looking forward to a great year, and following you all on your journeys!


I nominate

@soulturtle
@elew
@aunt-deb
@buttcoins
@pensif

Sort:  

I missed numbers 1 and 3 of this collection! Mmm, I rarely miss posts too. You must've snuck them pass me while I was sleeping or refilling my morning coffee

You're so cool! I'm so glad that you did this. I missed a couple of these too. Always good to learn new things about people! You were one of my first people I met on here and I'm glad for that as your posts, their depth and intelligence, gave me hope for the platform and made me want to keep posting :)

Thanks so much! It’s been amazing witnessing so much growth on Steem in the short time I’ve bee here. Your posts have been inspiring and encouraging to me. Before I came on Steemit I was starting to question if I was taking this permaculture thing too far. After following along with your journey and others I know that it isn’t far enough! Keep being amazing, we have an adventurous year ahead!

All are excellent posts. I am glad that you found your way to steemit.

You have a very beautiful hand! ;-D

Lmao ❤️

So many seeds on those weeds! :-)

WHat a fab share, thanks very much, there are some excellent choices here...especially enjoyed your article on going veggie and thought you presented the facts both logically and cogently. 💚

Currently our food choices (given that we are actually lucky enough to HAVE choices) are one way that we can hit back at the agri-chemical-culture big bizzes simply by growing our own and removing our cash and financial support from their pernicious profits! 😊

I have just written a post about "eating kindness" on veganism (yep, I am vegan) which may be of interest?

Will be following and looking forward to your future posts very much. 🌻
Wishing you full steem ahead in the new 365 day growing cycle❤️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63811.50
ETH 2617.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77