My Top 5 2017 Posts Challenge: Herbal Medicine Making, Seed Cheese, Vegan Turned Hunter, and More!

in #my2017top56 years ago (edited)

Thanks to @senorcoconut for nominating us to be a part of Dave's Top 5 Post Contest. At the bottom I'll nominate 5 people so be sure to check- one may be you!

We joined steemit a little over a month ago and some of our early posts got left in the dust! We didn't have all you awesome people following us that we have now. So I was really excited to make this post to share some of the quality posts that we made in the beginning that didn't get seen by many people!

My Personal Top 2017

1. How to Grow & Make your own Herbal Medicine: Tinctures

26170122_757048021156730_7596146866719974570_o.jpg

"First choose which plant you would like to grow. You can pick an herbal medicine you already take or think about something you would like support for in your life. One thing that I focus on is Immunity Boosting. You can do some research or consult an herbalist. Narrow this down to a plant that you’re either familiar with or one that attracts you. Look into its growth habit (does it like shade or sun, need a lot or a little water, what kind of soil does it prefer), which part of the plant you’re focusing on (herbal medicine is made from seeds, bark, leaves, roots, stalks, fruit of the plant), and how long it will take to produce (will it grow successfully in one season or should you wait to harvest it after 1 or more?)."

[Read Full Post]


I chose this post because I LOVE making herbal medicine and one my reasons for being on steemit is to empower others to learn how to make their own medicine too!

2. Why I am a Recovering Vegan turned Homesteader

37892456824_920647b148_o.jpg

I was a strict vegan for eight and a half years. I didn’t grow up this way, but my culture made me do it... I grew up thinking potatoes and ketchup were sufficient vegetable content to make an almost carnivorous diet balanced and that drinking a half gallon of coke slushy wasn’t ridiculous. At 19 after landing in Bangkok 2 days prior I had a dream that literally turned me vegetarian overnight. I almost didn’t believe myself when I said I’m going to stop eating meat, but just like that I did. Once I was introduced to concepts of karma, the spiritual effects of diet and the numerous atrocities of the BIG AG animal industry I was hooked.

[Read Full Post]


This is a post written by Ini and is an intimate account of his transition from vegan to meat eater on the homestead (and hunter!). We made this post early on and not may saw it, but it's an integral part of his journey.

3. Off Grid Homesteading Composting Toilet: Clay Plaster, Slip Straw, Stone & Salvaged Wood

DSC_0098.JPG

Humanure
We had read John Jenkins Humanure Handbook (See part 3 of this post) and were fairly familiar with our options. The simplest method is the bucket system, where 5 gallon buckets are filled with humanure, urine and sawdust and emptied into an outdoor composting bin. Having no running water, and looking into the future where we didn’t want one more chore (emptying and cleaning buckets), we opted for a double bay system in a standalone building.
[Read Full Post]


We Love this post and think it's one of our best! We also definitely want to promote composting toilets and DIY building! You can do it!!!

4. Step by Step: Making your own Sprouted Sunflower Seed Cheese

14019993255_68e5cc8857_o.jpg

If you’ve never sprouted or fermented anything before, this would be a good place to start. This is a quick recipe, yields consistent results and doesn’t require any extra knowledge or specialized equipment. If any step towards health is to be effective, it must be something that integrates easily into our lives.
Sprouting and fermenting may be two of the easiest at home ways to improve digestibility, bio-availibility and optimizing nutrition of the foods we nourish ourselves with. Sprouting removes phytic acid which blocks absorption of minerals while increasing enzymic activity and improves the capacity for the body to use the nutrients by waking them up from a slumber.

[Read Full Post]


Ini wrote a book called Sprouts: Live Well with Living Foods and sprouting is a blessing in our household ALL the time!! Don't miss this awesome post that deserves to be seen again!!

5. Imaginarium

23156995_734433653418167_3652371191620406062_o.jpg

From hither and tither to Misses and Misters

I send out a call in shouts, sing-songs and whispers

An invitation of sorts, extended to all

No one excluded, no one too small

Too round or too flat, too short or too tall

Open to all this most special of places

All faces, all races, all colors and creeds

To get there of course there’s nothing you need

Except the desire and willingness to proceed

[Read Full Post]


This next one is one that totally didn't get seen! This is a poem that Ini wrote that I have always felt a lot of life in. I hope someone reading enjoys it :)

Thanks for taking a look at some of our 2017 posts!

There's still a few more hours left for others to participate in this contest, and if you don't get to it by then, feel free to still make the post!!

I nominate:

@schoonercreek
@theferalone
@therightsideofup
@ozarkdogwood
@trucklife-family

Thank you to @rocking-dave for making this awesome GIF^^ & having this contest!!

Sort:  

A Thank you for the mention!!! Great top 5. I really have to pick your brain one of these days about makong tinctures, I have wanted to make tinctures for a while.

The other thing is humanure... We're in the same boat right now all we have is an ice fishing tent with our bucket system. For those who have that "fecal fobia" that is mentioned in the humanure handbook, it can be intimidating.
20170626_094010.jpg

So we want to build a small building that will be more inviting.

Thanks for the post and I'll ve to re-read some of them.

Great, any questions are welcome! It does make it more pleasant if there's s nice cozy space to add your deposit. Getting over the fobia is the biggest challenge to humanure. best of luck with your endeavors.

Thanks... I probably will have some questions evenbthough Ibread tons and have lots of building experience!

Loved reading this post, I commend u on ur homestead! I finally moved out of the BIG city of Denver , and now live in the country of KY, id like to get to where I’ve got a garden & more self sufficient, but not quite there yet.. I started growing herbs this last year😁 its a start right?? Lol

that's a fantastic start! herbs are one of the treasures of the plant kingdom. herbs are everything and if you only ever grew herbs it would be a fantastic thing :D ... happy to hear of your move and blessings on your path. thanks for your kind words <3

Great posts and wow thank you for nominating me @mountainjewel!

I don't know if I ever could become a Vegan. I don't think so, in this country at least, there are no decent meat subsitutes here, all vegan dishes are yucky!

he's not a vegan anymore. having goat and venison stew for dinner... i think his vegan years were full of lots of hemp oil (in canada!) lol...

blarg! Nothing against vegans but just blarg!

That article on the fermented, sprouted sunflower seeds was pretty neat! Will have to try it sometime.

Nice, it's so versatile we never get tired of eating variations on this.

Wow. This nice great skills you have got here! Higher heights in 2018

Thanks, we're excited to keep sharing and growing.

When I first joined I saw your post on your two bay composting outhouse. It immediately made me excited I came to join steemit because I was so happy to see a post so well presented on an subject I've been trying to learn about to put in at my place. Your post was a gateway to me learning there's a thriving homesteading community here. Looking forward to your 2018 posts!

Yay! So happy to hear you enjoyed our content. Our hope is enliven, inspire, educated and engage the homesteading community on steemit. Glad to have you here. Thank you <3

ah just saw this now, great idea x great posts as always @mountainjewel.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97