My 2017: Welcoming The Year ~ Happy Not-So-New YearsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #my20176 years ago

First of all, HAPPY NEW YEAR, Steemians! What a year 2017 has been. It was the ideal year for all crypto enthusiasts, and thank God our own Steem didn't miss out. Hopefully 2018 will be an even better year!

Okay, sow that the enthusiasm is out of the way, time for some hard reality. You see I've celebrated about 21 New Years on this earth. Sadly, though, they've all ceased to be so new for a while.

Allow me to take you through my cycle from New Year's Eve to the New Year, and then some.

But first, a little back story. I come from a quaint old town called Ibadan in Nigeria. Our New Year celebrations is pretty much the same, save the heart-wrenching slam-your-head-on-a-concrete type of boredom that I think is rather peculiar to my family alone.

New Year's Eve starts pretty much like any other day, in fact it is any other day. This year's was, of course, a Sunday, so we went to church, and came back tired.

We woke up, as usual, set off for the market!

image.jpeg

Here's my sisters and I on the way to the market
image.jpeg

One sure thing about Christmas and New Year Celebration--just as turkey is to American thanksgiving--is killing chickens and/or turkeys here. More on that later.
image.jpeg

So here we are at the market.
image.jpeg

image.jpeg
Here's a chicken that flew away from atop a bike. Poor fella didn't want to die.image.jpeg

Speaking of chickens and death. Meet Chicken and Turkey[Yeah, I named them. Yeah, that's weird, I know].
image.jpeg
image.jpeg
So we made the mistake of getting them two weeks earlier, and now we're totally in love with them.

Too bad they had to die this morning. I'll miss you Chicken and Turkey. I promise I'll never fall in love with any other Chicken and Turkey so long as I live.

Here I am fetching the water to cook Chicken and Turkey with. Love can be so torturously paradoxical some times.

image.jpeg

This is the Cross-Over Night. So long as you're a Christian and alive and Nigerian on New Year's Eve, then you're doing Crossover Night in a Church.
image.jpeg

After the Crossover and the chores and the eating of my friends/kins Turkey and Chicken, we finished welcoming the New-Year with a good sleep. And I mean good sleep! this, no doubt, is the best part. Nothing beats a good sleep!

So there you have it Steemians. This is my Not-So-New-New-Year. Here's to hoping for a better one next year--as usual.

Thanks for reading!

Major S/O to @anomadsoul for organizing the contest.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60716.58
ETH 3369.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48