My 2017: Achievements and Failures - The Unveiling Of The Beautiful Ugly

in #my20176 years ago (edited)

My 2017 - Achievements and Failures - The Unveiling Of The Beautiful Ugly

This was the year I quit my normal, routine job. I was fortunate enough to be able to- but it was not easy.
For several years I had spent every moment of my days working in real estate. I was very good at selling homes but it had many negatives.

I was fascinated by the technology in cryptocurrency and I often browsed the forums searching for small, paying tasks.
I was happy to freelance a few articles for various publications including BTCmanager.com, Dapptech.com. I built a respectable portfolio for modest compensation.

One day I stumbled across a funny topic on bitcointalk.org. It was about a "Wireless Time Traveling Coin" and had a lot of silly but admirable goals, and it was mostly a sweet group of visionary types who had far loftier goals than reality. None the less I sent them a word of encouragement because some cranky troll was attacking the Time Travel coin guys.
troll.jpg

The troll said to the Wireless Time Travel Guys:

"Well no time Traveller has visited us yet so the coin will probably fail."

To which I replied light heartedly:

"This is a funny point you make, but hey, if I could travel time, I wouldn't visit us either. We are a cranky and nit-picky bunch, and a time traveler would probably be scolded and scrutinized until he was running back to the future."

The simple fact that no future human had shown up yet to the thread was NOT evidence against the existence of such a traveler.
A visit to the thread in question was not likely- if in fact, a time traveler had the option.
Check the conversation out here, it is amusing but also ... it signifies the start of my life, as I am living it now.
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1854960.msg18716595#msg18716595

You see, those guys with silly adventurous ideas were not just dreamers. One of them invited me to a slack channel and much like Alice and the white rabbit, I had embarked on a journey far more rewarding than I imagined.
better.jpg

Through a series of hilarious meetings with interesting people of all walks of life from every part of the globe I wiggled my way through the wormhole that housed my future.
postit.jpg

I will always thank my friend from the Wireless Time Traveling Coin Project (where are you?). I somehow was in the midst of geniuses and suddenly I was conversing with a marvelous human who was called "house". House is the owner and master mind behind Core, a whole bunch of stylish Crypto media outlets including http://CoreMagazine.Info, http://CoreMedia.info which is now http://CryptoCoreMedia.com, http://CoreGroup.info, http://CryptoPressrelease.com the list continues, for a while.
I was interested in writing for whoever would pay me decently for the effort- and this man "house" had bigger visions for me.

CAUTION.jpg
“House” saw more than what was in front of him. He saw what I was, in my soul. He does that to everyone he meets- this is not a love story. At least not the romantic type. There is lots and lots of love though.

Anyway, “House” the visionary, seemed to have exactly my same style of banter and similar charm. How could that be? I am a unique person, and usually, I don't see eye to eye with anyone completely. This "house" was an old friend, within 5 minutes of our first meeting.

“House” gave me a chance to work doing what comes most easily to me, and that is to write. He had already read some of my work, so I was given the chance to steadily write about crypto - and the crazy part is... “house” wanted me to be ME. He demanded that I be exactly my sassy self and to design my own style and cater to my own audience. The pay was nonexistent at first because it was to be determined by my productivity.
sad dog.jpg
But I blew it.

I am not always the most disciplined when it comes to time, and I am amazingly good at procrastinating.

So I blew it.

I wrote a great couple of articles but the freedom I was given and the lack of structure proved to be too much and I simply stopped trying.

Then I began to take on odd jobs writing again. Hey, I was not selling houses, and I am a mom so groceries go quick.
I wrote a GREAT piece as a freelance one time deal. It was called "So They Think Bitcoin Is A Scam." Read it here -- >> https://dapp.tech/they-think-bitcoin-scam/
It was so good I wanted to share it with my friend/sometimes-employer, "house".
He was not receptive, and I did not like feeling his disappointed vibe. It was then that I could finally see my roadblock.
aha.png

I was my biggest roadblock! I had sabotaged my own dream by not showing up! WTF?

I wrote a note to "house" and the other executives that worked for him. It was longwinded. It was daring.

I let them know that I no longer could wait to feed my family and that was why I was taking freelance jobs. I confessed that I knew exactly how to write daily and would if it was really going to benefit us equally.
I told them I was aware of my value- and even though I was afraid of rejection I said

"When you are done reading this I want you to either congratulate me or fire me."

Within a short time I was offered a salaried position and my reality has been Core Media ever since. Best note I have ever written!

My Dream JobX
My Best FriendsX
My Promising FutureX
My PurposeX

All because

  1. I stood up to a troll with my sweet friends and this good deed was noticed.
  2. I met my future employer/mentor / kindred spirit of a past and future life
  3. I failed
  4. I faced it - I rebelled against my instinct to quit.
  5. My failure CREATED my Success!

If you have any prior knowledge of who I am, you already know that some big dreams have already become reality.
Just watch and see what 2018 has in store. I wonder what failures I can turn into success.

This is an entry into the contest you can find here https://steemit.com/my2017/@anomadsoul/my-2017-contest-inviting-everyone-to-do-a-2017-recap-every-week-until-the-year-ends-100-sbd-weekly-reward

Sort:  

Very interesting post! Nice to know you worked real estate. I don't procrastinate like you do, but I OBSESS over things too much. I'll work so hard that I'll crash, but that was when I was in my early 20's. Still, whenever I catch myself doing that, I take a step back. Guess there's no shortcut to experience. I'm glad to see that you are now an independent professional!

In Real Estate it is completely independent too- but it is so different. I did get to use my love of writing every day but it was not satisfying in the same way as writing about the cryptosphere. I like your thought here. "No shortcut to experience". Quoteworthy material there!

Lori writes really neatly. Wow, quite a busy one, so much happened this year. I'm glad you were able to take a step in finding what you love and sticking to it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97