My 2017: Welcoming the new year - my year of new begginings

in #my20177 years ago (edited)

Firstly I want to thank @anomadsoul and @blocktrades for giving me this opportunity to participate in this contest, am happy expressing myself again, thank you so much for having people at heart.

design-3047520__340.jpg
(Picture gotten from pixabay.com)

With the sharp edge cutting wind and the smell of celebrations in the air, the thoughts of the new year began to be more real as I pondered how time flew. I am Samuel Keban a native of Portharcourt city in Rivers state Nigeria, the well known busy city began to be quiet and less populated as most people who dwell in the city are migrants from other states and countries, many people have traveled to their villages or for holidays as it may be because the city started getting quieter and quieter by the day, getting to the 31st of December the roads were calm as though you can actually now count the number of cars that ply it in a day, that did not change the fact that there were still a great number of people with me included who celebrated the born of a new year.

I woke up that morning with the thought of knowing that 2017 was coming to an end, pondering on my bed and taking thoughts of how my 2017 had been, I grabbed my diary and began to write down first of all my successes and why I succeeded, my mistakes, opportunities I took advantage of and the ones I missed, I began to write my experiences in 2017 and I measured if I made progress or not, it was a beautiful day.

Staying in the same city with my parents I decided to see them before the year ended, I grabbed a bite for breakfast and off I was to see my family, getting there it was fun, warm welcome by my 3 sisters, hugs and kisses, then getting to the evening I ran off to see a friend that I haven't seen in a very long time, we had no contact for about 8 years, that day I got a call from him, he had gotten my contact on facebook and we decided to hook up, getting to his place was exciting, seeing he was married to a beautiful lady, we hugged, talked and remembered old days. Victory been a good cook and a baker, I expected to be offered a meal and I was not disappointed because I was welcomed with well garnished jollof rice with fried chicken, baked beans and a malt drink, by the end of the day I dashed of to church where I and most people in Portharcourt spend their year end.

FB_IMG_1513586382325.jpg
(Picture of my Pastor before ministration)

My family and most families here in my city are Christians, we believe in ending the year and starting the new year with God, it was a wonderful service in church as we were prayed for and blessed by our pastor, the service came to an end with the shout of Happy new year by our clergyman by 12:15am, after the closing of the service I went back to my parents place to be with my family, with joy in our hearts I met again my sisters and parents so we hugged and danced and drank some wine to celebrate the new year, there were several preparations for several dishes by my sisters, as at 5am all delicacies were ready, then we prayed and honored God as we as family committed the new year to God, we individually began to call family and friends to wish them good and celebrate with them the new year.

IMG_20180101_133500.jpg

IMG_20180101_133420.jpg
The dishes prepared were fried rice, fried chicken, fried beef, afang soup, egusi soup, salad, chicken pepper-soup and of course cold drinks, we ate, drank, sang, danced, made jest of each other, laughed and had a great time together, not to forget there were great and beautiful fireworks displayed.

I was awesome, in the evening I had to resort to my apartment where I again visited my diary, put the vision for the year down, set my goals, and got my plans written down also, and retired to my bed, read my bible, said my night prayers and went to bed, I had a great time and a wonderful.

I remain @keban from Nigeria, a STEEMIT Promoter

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @keban to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 56587.45
ETH 2991.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15