You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: @jedau's 2017 Year End Review

in #my20177 years ago

You are truly someone! I read your "being part-time acupuncturist". Shame on you! How dare you doubt something so old as acupuncture - the patients survived some thousands of years with it without having modern medicine anyway near them. OK, I guess, now that you have practiced it a while, now you can trust it's now some wishywashy thing. See, here, some time ago a guy went on a vacation to Turkey. He returned on a wheelchair and blind; some unknown infection. The doctors in the hospital gave up on him. The acupunturist returned him his sight and walking ability. OK, then that practice also had a very good Tui Na therapist, and they carried out 3-2 practice (3 times acupuncture-2 times massage a week or vice versa). Of course, no one expects to have acupuncture as a first aid if someone breaks a leg. I don't say that every old or ancient practice is good. Far from that, quite some are pretty oppresive and trying to pass themselves as merciful. Sure one has to be educated, otherwise it's a scam. But shouldn't it make us think how far today's medical point of view of human is from that of tradition chinese medicine?

Sort:  

Hmm? I'm not sure what part of that post made you think that I doubt acupuncture. I wouldn't be practising it if I didn't believe in it haha! That would make me kind of a hypocrite, wouldn't it? I don't consider it's origins as Chinese, but I'm not discounting their contributions to the art. Just to be clear, I don't think acupuncture is a "wishywashy thing", if I did, I wouldn't even give it the time of day. I still practice it by the way.

Oh, no. I refer to your initial doubt, here: "Before I learned acupuncture, I was one of those vehement skeptics. I mean, how could a person get healed by just pricking them with needles, right? That's just some quack practice that preys on gullible people. I belong to a family of medical doctors, so I think I would know what passes off as a credible cure."
And I don't think of you as any type of hypocrite. Though you shock me sometimes.

How do I shock you? Haha Pray tell.

The last sentences of Another Day in the Clouds surely did shock me. Imagine, I calmly read the whole post and then bam, in the last 2 sentences you come forward as some sort of Gheghiskhan. ??? It sounds like you are going to rape the very year. Very disturbing. And, ugh, non-digestible to say the least. It also gives me the impression that you will be heading strightforward into exhaustion. Maybe, I'm wrong, but anyway.
Take this: "Dr. Lu insisted that there were only one illness - a disturbance of the balanced way." (The Healing Arts, Ted Kaptchuk, Michael Croucher) You only need to be receptive, and than you can detect the coming ups and downs and smooth them, you might detect the obstacles and figure out how to go around the, remove them, or lessen their impact, and notice what you need to do not to burnout or head for the freefall.

Hmm.. I think that you're completely misinterpreting what I said. The last two sentences was in no way related to rape or pillaging. Rather, it's a play on words about the common colloquialism and the proper name of a female dog. It's in no way meant to be interpreted as inciting violence, or even being disturbing. Also, the whole piece recounted a previous bout of exhaustion and the vow to learn from past mistakes. If anything, I'm heading directly away from exhaustion with my new strategy. I don't know if it's just an issue of wrong translation.

This is what I got the impression until the last 2 sentences, and while reading them I felt like being splashed with a bucked of obscenity, and they gave me the impression that you are heading into the exactly opposite direction than you announced previously in the text.

Yeah well, that wasn't the intention at all. It must be miscommunication with language, s'all.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57743.27
ETH 3083.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42