My 2017: Welcoming the new year - Together as a family!

in #my20177 years ago (edited)

  Hello, my steemit friends! Today I’m gonna be showing you how my family and Friends celebrate new years together.

My name is Angelica and I’m from Venezuela. Here, we have so many traditions to do on new years eve, from the food to listening some type of songs that allude to the arrive of the new year.  Even thought the economy situation we are going throught right now doesn’t allowed everyone to accomplish these traditions; me and my family tried to do some of them and show you how we celebrate! 

One of the first things we do on New Years eve is making “Hallacas”, our favorite food on December but is almost a mandatory thing to eat on new years eve, it’s really delicious and the best part is that the whole family participate on making and cooking them. We also cook some pork, it’s part of the traditional food we eat on December. After we finish cooking all the food, everyone goes to take a bath and put on their best clothes, and then we take pictures together beside of our Christmas tree. 

Another tradition is going around the block with a suitcase, this may sound crazy but for those who wants to get luck and travel the next year is a good option! We also use yellow underwear (I know, it's funny hahaha) this tradition is use to atract good luck and prosperity. 

My family and I also throw some money on our beds to have the guarantee of having prosperity and money the whole new year that's coming; and also recieve the new year with money on our hands for the same thing. 

Then, when is almost midnight we gathered together and we start to hear and sing songs like “Faltan 5 pa’ las 12” (It’s five to twelve), then we do the final count, when the new year is almost a minute away. Here, we have another tradition and it consist in eating twelve grapes and making a wish when you eat one by one, so you have to think in twelve wishes for the new year. 

After that we hug each other and give everyone around the best wishes for the new year that just arrive. Some people cry, others laugh but everyone is just happy at their own way and hoping the best for this new year. And last but not least we go outside and watch the sky to admire the fireworks show. 

In my country, Venezuela, we have so many traditions but the best part of all of thatis to share happiness, love and good wishes with the people you love the most, doing simple things like eating together, dancing, drinking, talking and singing along as we make a toast for the new year.  I hope everyone had a good celebration in their homes and wish you all the best in this New Year 2018. Lots of love!  

______________________________________________________________________

Disclaimer: All the pictures are mine. I took them with a Samsung and Nikon camera.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67947.42
ETH 3264.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66