My 2017: Welcoming the new year - Party like never before

in #my20177 years ago


new year1.png
Source

I am from Nigeria.

Nigerians usher in the New Year in different special ways. Having lived the whole year from January through December, everyone gets very excited about making it to the New Year. Faced with the sad reality that some people who they were together with, in the beginning of the year, are no longer with them, being alive is a great reason for them to step into the New Year in grand style.


party.jpg
Source

It’s an open secret that Nigerians love to party – yes we do, and I’m not an exception. For most of us, the New Year is synonymous with one word – party. A few days to the 31st of December, my friends and I started making plans for our grand entry into the New Year. It didn’t matter that we had a great party during Christmas, we were determined to have an even greater New Year party. We had a few options at our disposal which were: go to the club, go to a concert or better still organize our own party. Organizing our own party seemed like a great idea but it was short notice – we may not be able to put together a great party. So we decided to go to go to the club.


party1.png
Source

The weather seemed cold that night, so we were all kitted in heavy clothes to shield the cold. As we left the house, we had one thing in mind – to party like never before. Our first stop was a fancy club in town. We arrived at about 10pm. We thought we were going to be among the first people to arrive, but we were pleasantly surprised as we met a huge crowd. We practically struggled through the door as the building was literally filled with people – remember I said Nigerians love to party, right? Well, crowd or no crowd, we were going to have the party of our life.

Immediately we stepped in, I got on the dance floor. The DJ was simply on another level. Everyone in the club seemed to have come prepared to dance like never before; the energy was on another level.


party3.jpg
Source

In celebration of the New Year, the club owners had made drinks available to everyone for free! All we had to do was have fun. Drink went round as everyone continued to party. The DJ must have read my mind as he kept playing some of my favourite songs.

Did I mention that I took off my jacket? The club was nothing close to being cold. Even with just a T-Shirt on, I was sweating like a Christmas Goat, lol. And then, the Hype Man made an announcement that we had just 5 minutes left to the New Year. He urged everyone to dance their way into the New Year as it signified that they were going to have awesome experiences that will make them dance throughout the year. Everyone began to scream in excitement as they increased the tempo of their dance.


party4.jpg
Source

At 12 midnight, fireworks came up in the building and everyone kept shouting “Happy New Year!” We continued partying till dawn. On our way home, I has lost my voice from the screaming. Lol. It was a great experience for me. Truly, I partied like never before.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63811.18
ETH 2610.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83