A maybe not perfect, but still useful Markdown guide for newbies on Steemit

in #my20176 years ago (edited)

This title look horrible, right?

But if I use ## before starting a sentence

It will look like this

But then you have this next sentence way too crammed up right below the title

so what I do is add <br> at the beginning of the next paragraph\

And it will look like this


Much better, right? I didn´t add any enter between the title and this text, just the word <br>\

But you might want to center your title

All I have to do is add <center> right after the ## and then add </center> in the end of the title and it will be nicely centered, cool huh?

On the editor will look like this ## <center> My amazing title </center>

But on your post it will look like this:

My amazing title

And maybe i want to add an image, I like this one

But it look awkward in the left zone, like a tree in a theatre play, I want it in the center, so all i have to is the same as I did in the title, I will add <center>\ Here goes the Image url </center>

And it will look like this


And then I want to continue writing but the image seems too close to the paragraph, doesn´t it? Well, maybe this one doesn´t but if you want to add a space between the image and the text, you can just put <br> at the beginning of the paragraph after the image and you´ll have a space :)

So now we have nice looking titles and proper imaging but how about subtitles?

# Using one will make your text look like this

# Using two will make your text look like this

### Using one will make your text look like this

#### Using one will make your text look like this

##### Using one will make your text look like this
###### Using one will make your text look like this


Now I can use titles, subtitles and sub-subtitles to arrange my post as nicely as I want. There is one more thing, sometimes I write very long paragraphs and of course, perhaps you´ve noticed it if you look closely, these paragraphs always look like this. Looks messy right? I couldn´t find a feature to avoid this, I think it is called "justify" the text, you know? That thingy you do in word to make the paragraph look nice, clean and not coming from a 7 year old.

So all I have to do is add <div class="text-justify"><p> in the beggining of the text and then put </p></div> in the end and the same text will look like this:


Now I can use titles, subtitles and sub-subtitles to arrange my post as nicely as I want. There is one more thing, sometimes I write very long paragraphs and of course, perhaps you´ve noticed it if you look closely, these paragraphs always look like this. Looks messy right? I couldn´t find a feature to avoid this, I think it is called "justify" the text, you know? That thingy you do in word to make the paragraph look nice, clean and coming from a Steemian comitted to his posts. Now it looks good, right?

So to end this small tutorial I want to quote Spiderman, so all I should do is add > right before the quote and it will look like this:

With great power comes great responsibility.

So now you know the very basics of editing with markdown, now it is your responsibility to use them wisely and add to your posts a bit of "pro" style.

Disclaimer: You can find this info everywhere online, I am just writing here what I use the most while writing on Steemit and I´m explaining it the easiest way I could. I hope it is useful for you, and your next post.

Of course I will tell you how to do the small letters! All I did was adding <sub> in the beginning of the text and then put </sub>

And Finally, to add a link without having to put all the url, you can do this [Your text goes here](www.steemit.com) and it will look like this: Your text goes here.

That´s it my friend, enjoy being a semi-pro now!

Sort:  

@anomadsoul - Aahh. I wish I had come across this when I started out as a minnow on Steemit. Without this to guide me, I had to figure everything out the hard way. If we take a look at my posts, not sure if I have mastered all the techniques of markdown yet. LOL.
Anyway - I think it is a great guide - all in one place for new comers. Well done. Upvoted full my friend.

Regards,

@vm2904

Honestly this is awesome

I wish I had come across this when I started out as a minnow on Steemit

I still get some stuffs here

I wanted to know how people put photos beside their texts.

gailbelga u are always learning on here.

thank u for this sir. it helps a lot. the codes are so useful since i am looking for that

Yeah sir knight I´m so glad you found this useful, you will need it for tomorrow´s contest!

woahhh... i am ao excited for another contest!!! cheers sir!!

Upvoted and resteemed. And shared to my steemit facebook group.

Thank you so much @techslut! So nice to see you around my blog ^^ I appreciate the RS and sharing!!!

I lurk. :)

This is a valuable post for my followers and the Israeli community I am building, so worth a share and thank you for writing it.

I needed this post bad! I'm going to have to read it a few times because of my dementia but hopefully I'll get it, thanks Eric!😘 oh and my daughter started steemit today! I'm so happy I put it in my post I hope your all better!

Thank you very much @anomadsoul,
there are not many people here who write helping posts.
It is very nice that you help others to move forward.

Bless you dear friend

Nah man, there are a lot of people doing stuff for the platform and doing this kind of posts! You just stumbled upon mine, I´m glad it was useful for youi!

Thanks So Much for this! I'm still so new to editing posts and adding the fancy flair and I have been needing this! :)

Ohh that fancy flair is always needed don´t you think?? :D I´m glad this post helped out to get some glamour to your posts!

Hah yes! I've already implemented it too ;) thanks again

Very good tutorial, they should improve the editor for newbies to use it
Thanks for helping the community

Very useful information. Maybe you know if the picture only takes a part of the line, how to write next to it? Good luck to you and good.

It was answered in the top comment of this post! I hope it helps you out my friend

Thank you.

Thank you, @anomadsoul! I needed this!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66216.02
ETH 3547.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.01