Colour Blind Finding Colors in Steemit

in #my6 years ago (edited)

I am Zii Wenceslao, 26 years old, youngest in 7 siblings, and I am Colour Blind.
I can't see the world the same as others do. But I always see the good in people. I am the kind of person who appreciates the simplicity of life. I have a heart for street children and old people.
When I was a child, I really don't understand why my teacher always scolded me. My classmates used to make fun of me because I used to draw green cars, green buildings, green faces. I don't get excited with rainbows. I often mistakenly eat the unripe fruits.
I grew up wondering what is wrong with me. I got the answers when I had my very first eye check up.
It was 2011 when i found out that I am Red-green Colorblind (Deuteranopia).
It's not easy.
I really love cooking but i can't even tell when my dish is cooked. Differentiating ripe and green tomatoes is so hard that i have to ask for guidance. Even the clothes I wear still need somebody's approval.
Being unable to identify different shades of colors have some serious psychological damage to my self- esteem & confidence.
I became more sensitive in all aspects. I get demotivated in everything that I do. I wanted to pursue photography but I get insecure knowing that I will never have the right eye for colors. This affected my career performance in work as well.
Colorblindness is incurable. I almost lose hope so I started to just embrace it. I tried my best to see the bright side. " I am still blessed and lucky because i am just colour blind, not totally blind" I said trying to console myself.
Then I learned about EnChroma Glasses in the internet.
I got so excited and motivated.
It brought back my hopes and dreams to see real colors. I worked hard and maintained at least two jobs at the same time. But it's still not enough for I have other needs to sustain.
I wonder "How does it feel to see real colors?
"Would Christmas feel more special?"
"How does the rainbow look like?"
"How many colors are there in the color wheel?"

After 26 years of looking at the world through a green filtered lens, I still can't believe that I am now seeing real colors.
Thanks to my friends who initiated the fundraising and Colour Blind Awareness Raising Campaign in the Philippines.
Because of your generosity, I can already see real colors because i already got my Enchroma Glasses.!

We hope this will be the start of letting the Philippines understand more about colorblindness.

32130374_340147883174839_3813520390039273472_n.jpg

Sort:  

Hello and welcome to Steemit! :)

Very interesting story. I hope everything runs well for you. There is always a way to look something good in these situations where we don't have control. After all, it builds character if you get through it and that is very valuable.

Let me know if need any help in the Cryptocurrency space.

As well, make sure to use 5 tags to get maximum exposure for your posts :)

I wish you all the best! :)

Thank you so much for the help. I hope you are doing well too.

Welcome Luwenz
to the great community of Steemit
You are a new Steemian now!
I saw your blog about your color blindness and its nice to meet you and tell you that two off Our boys have the Same. And we learned to live with it! Glad that you have the glasses.
Blogging, building and uplifting eachother is what this platform is all about and what its all about on this blockchain. The best part is that you could earn money too.💴💸💰
I never blogged before I just write.
But be carefull with all your passwords, Never give those up !!
For safety tips visit https://steemit.com/steem/@verhp11/safety-first-first-aid-kit-for-steemians-who-are-just-beginning-this-great-journey from Our fellow steemy @verhp11.
The Steemify App I use is great, it is available in the Appstore and free, go cheque it out. I wish you good luck with steeming and I Will See you around🍀
Your value and input is appreciated!
Good luck with your journey and may you find what you are looking for.
Just remember that all good things come in good time and never giving up is they key to big succes on Steemit.
Let me know if this was helpfull or you need more help.
Greetings from Brittandjosie from the Netherlands

Thank you so much for the reminders. I'm glad that i'm on steemit now. :)

You are great and smart.

Thank you so much! Have a great day!

Welcome on steemit.

Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66868.29
ETH 3520.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63