MY-NICHE CONTEST- FOR THE LOVE OF STORIES

in #my-niche6 years ago (edited)

paper-3033204_640.jpg
Image Credit
When people ask me “what do you do for fun?” my reply is always “i enjoy reading novels (preferably good romance novels), watching movies and writing. When i give these or any of the replies, i often get the joy of being called “boring.”

Well that is me, the boring girl and i refuse to apologies for it. As far back as i can remember, I’ve always loved reading stories. As a child, i often spend my after school time in a local book shop in the market. Though it was no library, i ended up borrowing books home. When i was in primary school, i was regularly called up first to read the comprehension passages during English language classes. One day i asked my teacher why and she said it was because i gave life to the story and she could see how interested my classmates were when i read.

I also enjoyed making up stories in my mind to distract myself. Sometimes i could control it and other times i couldn’t. The stories could be based on a thought, a scene i just witness or news i heard. I wasn’t daydreaming because these stories were rarely about me. This ability to make stories off the bat caused me to be the favourite of my nephew as i was his go to for a bed time story.

My interest in writing

When i started reading paperback novel, i began having this thought to write some of my stories. I started with writing bits and pieces but it never sounded right, not the tone, grammar or even the theme of story. I was never able to transfer my thoughts to written worlds.

The first completed story i wrote was a mess. It was all shades of wrong but i couldn’t bring myself to press the delete button. I told myself that because i love to read won’t translate to being able to write, so i began doing more research and studying on my own. I Re-read some of my favourite novels but this time not for the fun of it but to learn from it. After studying till i felt like i could give writing another try i decided to fine tune my story instead of starting a new one.

Journey so far....
That story was the start of my creative writing journey. From a one page story it grew to a 4500 words story and it took me three years to complete. Ever since, I’ve written a couple of others without second guessing myself. it is hard work but at the end of the day, the work may not be perfect but when i read it, i feel proud of myself.

For the first time i'm letting people read my work. i want to use my writings to inspire people in the simple way of telling a tale as old as time. I am really thankful to steemit for providing this platform, where i don’t just share my stories without fear or criticism but i also learn from others.

Find about about @awolesigideon MY-NICHE CONTEST

Do not forget to upvote, resteem and follow

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66772.03
ETH 3237.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25