The plight of a Nigerian Preacher(Shortstory contest)

in #my-nich7 years ago (edited)

images.jpgSource
It often said that, "the field is always greener from the other side". Those who are far always see the work of evangelism to an easy one.

Every preacher expects three types of reactions as he goes out to preach, they are:

  1. Warmth welcome
  2. Lukewarm welcome
  3. Rejection

Every preacher wishes or demands the first, while he can manage the second, but no preacher is comfortable with the last.

As young boy, I usually mimic, tease or rather mock my neighbors who were members of the Jehovah's witness. I had directly and deliberately dodged being preached to, and have indirectly made things difficult for them in the time passed by challenging their believes and arguing with them, things I knew already.

I belonged to a prayer group in school which usually meet weekly for Bible studies and on other weekdays for prayer meetings. It was decided in one of our meetings that once in a month we would go for outreach (going out to preach to people around the community).

It was not easy for me to accept this development because I did not bargain for it. I wondered not what to preach but how on earth would I be roaming the street looking for people of different orientation, gather them to listen to me, being able to satisfy their doubts and was also scare of meeting people who will reject me.

I made up my mind and I went for the first outreach. It was interested because I did well by His grace, I spoke and people listen. It was adventurous also because all I expected came to pass both the good, bad and ugly.

Finally, I it was a successful outing, which I long to be doing often. It was an interesting adventure I did not regret attempting.

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @hilltop to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Loading...

So do you now preach to others? It's an interesting tale, you were reluctant to do something but in the end enjoyed it and found reward from it.

I do preach, and is worth doing.

@reported has voted on behalf of @minnowpond.
If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

            To receive an BiggerUpvote send 0.5 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an BiggerUpvote and a reSteem send 1.25SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65688.41
ETH 3444.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64