Some Muxxybot Delegator Abuse

in #muxxybot6 years ago

DQmbTxgsTywHtBjf3SUcusXa8o8GkJU5VbbiuDFEUeUxVVT.png

My Muxxybot curation account has been running since July last year. It was always my vision that the account helped newer users by giving them more visibility and increased rewards on their posts. I asked for delegations to increase Muxxybot's power and the account currently has 73 delegators. In return for their delegations, Muxxybot votes at a given percentage - depending on the size of their delegation - on every post the delegators make.

I used to use Steemvoter in order to handle the automatic votes to delegators but switched to another system shortly before Christmas, thank to Steemvoter rarely working. This was going well until it was noticed that Muxxybot was upvoting trash such as this:

Capture.PNG

Capture.PNG

As you can see, these accounts - and several others - all take a headline copied from an article elsewhere, insert a thumbnail and link to the original content and expect to be upvoted. Another account regurgitates 'jokes' found online which are frankly disgusting and nothing I want my curation account associated with.

I have asked these accounts to pull their meagre delegations but none have so far done so. My current voting system does not allow me to blacklist such abusers, therefore I am forced to change the system again.

Some Steemians like to follow Muxxybot's votes and add their own votes to whatever the account upvotes, with the desire to also help newer users. It is not fair that they inadvertently upvote such unworthy content.

From now on I am proactively checking every account that Muxxybot upvotes due to delegations. If I deem the content to be of low quality or plagiarised - as in the examples above - I will remove such accounts from the voting rules.

As I transition to the new system there may be a short break in automatic upvotes from the Muxxybot account to all delegators. For this I apologise, but it's something I must do to put an end to this abuse. Thanks for your understanding.



gmuxxxx.png
Banner by @hoschitrooper

Spam comments WILL receive a flag, you have been warned.


Like what I do? Vote for my witness by clicking THIS LINK. Thanks for your support.

Are you a writer or keen to learn? Do you wish to join a community of like-minded individuals who can help hone your writing skills in the fields of fiction, non-fiction, technical, poetry, or songwriting? Join us at The Writers' Block by clicking the logo below.

Sort:  

Did not even think about users who delegate for the sake of just earning. Thanks for taking action on this. I assume massive upvote bots have this issue too but hidden from view because there are just too many get noticed.

I for one appreciate the gentle tickle of a muxxybot upvote.

This is very necessary, it may seem harsh to some people who delegate. but the aim of the bot is to help low earning users with quality posts.
Nice work @gmuxx

boo hiss. i wonder what their mums would say about such behavior? clearly no pastries for these people...

Glad you're taking this seriously! (And that my time spent on figuring out why & what these people are doing is not in vain.) So sad when something that is intended to help build something meaningful and sustainable is abused like this. Keep up the good work!

That is awful. Sorry you’ve had to deal with that issue! And that reminds me. I have intended to delegate!

Time for some down voting on those accounts. I'll be moving some of my deligations around. Time to add more to @muxxybot, one of the best curation bots around.

Hello as I do to belong or deserve the votes of @gmuxx, I consider that my posts are quality and very original, greetings!

Blergh. Sorry you have to work around people like that >_<

goatsig

It's like an early spring cleaning for you here on Steemit :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60482.94
ETH 2613.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63