You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Musing 36

in #musings6 years ago

Spot on! Yes I have listened (see comment #orangina) to that one - and read it alongside (here's a writer who reads better when read out loud - or so I learned from the amazing narration by Rupert Degas, which helped me fall in love with Murakami and find the right tone in which to read him).

Also the Wild Sheep Chase and Dance Dance Dance are fantastically surreal, and go with Wonderland for me because of the narrator - which reminds me to read the other two from the Rat series (Wind/Pinball). The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle worked for me as did Kafka on the Shore, despite not everybody liking it so much. Saw the film for Norwegian Wood, but will have to read it to compare (although it feels like a coming of age novel which is not quite my thing). Not quite sure why 1Q84 had to be that thick (you know, with limited shelf space and all!...). Also learned a lot about Murakami from his running book. The underground gas attack is on the to-do pile. The interview with Seiji Ozawa is also interesting to me: I know Murakami is a jazz buff, so I am curious how much he has to discuss with this classical conductor.

Gave his Women a miss (as I have most of his short stories). But I think I'll accept the challenge to eventually have read every scrap of Murakami.
Waiting for his Commendantore (Oct) - crazy late, because I've seen it out already in some countries, in other language translations. May have to tear out the pages as I read (my mother's style on her travels!) because I have no more room for another bookcase!

Sort:  

I know you prefer the weight of dead trees on your hands, but for 1Q84 and other big ones I recommend e-reading. If I were a tree, a book woud definetely be my choice for eternity, no doubt, but there is room for digital literature in my heart too :)

Love the idea behind your suggestion, but my eyes less so.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60583.13
ETH 2342.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48