You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Musing 36

in #musings6 years ago

I like your new shelf - looks good and sturdy! I too have my own system for organizing books based on my own weird logic. And somehow, even after years, I know where they are and why I put them in that specific place.
I have to differ on the weight of the book thing though. I'm not big on ebooks, but I adore audiobooks. I read quite a few books from my reading phd lists as I made laps around my neighborhood because so much reading in a chair was killing my back. Now I am addicted to them and even if I do still love to write in margins and underline real books, I read about 50 audiobooks a year I would not get to read at all if I weren't doing that while I drive or cook. Certain ones help me sleep when I need to shut off the internal monologue at 2:30 am too!

Sort:  

Yay! Another audiobook lover! So hard to find here. Been bashed about the head with them by people who find them a waste of time. But I have no time to waste so I MUST also read per audiobook. Plus they make such nice company if you find the right narrators. Friends for life doubled (author+narrator). Oh at least 50 a year (although Knausgaard and Stendhal slowed me down, and the planned Proust may too!), easily. Prepare 1095 meals to them a year (b'fast, lunch, dinner). Often running 3-4 books at one time! (Alan Watts for b'fast; Nesbo's Macbeth for lunch; Burnt Out Case by Green during my walk (but almost finished so then next A Short History of Tractors - Lewycka), must fit in the last bit of Charterhouse of Parma during cooking, and might wander off into the night on The Silk Roads by Peter Frankopan.)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60546.41
ETH 2355.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53