Don Johnson is not a good actor

in #musings2 years ago

It's been quite a while since I have written about films or movies but something happened to me last night that really made me think.

I'm old enough that there was a time when Don Johnson was admire by just about every teenager and young boy in America. I presume a lot of the rest of the world as well. You see, there was this show called "Miami Vice" and Don Johnson's character of Sonny Crockett was basically the coolest person on planet earth.


image.png
src

He worked as an undercover cop, drove awesome supercars, hooked up with models, and was sporting a kick-ass white suit jacket all the time. I remember we were so enamored by this look that there was a kid that I was friends with in 5th grade that actually had a full on white suit that he wore to school. I'd like to say that we didn't make fun of him but we did. We also got him and his suit very dirty on the playground.

Anyway, back to Don Johnson.


image.png
src

It was so long ago that I was a fan of the original series and I was so young at the time that I don't really have any idea of Don Johnson was actually any good or had any acting skills whatsever. I am thinking that maybe he didn't because he didn't really go on to do much else after that except for playing supporting characters in movies that were normally scumbags.

Other than "Django" and "Tin Cup" I can't really even think of any movies that he has been in.

Well the other night i stumbled upon a British show called "Sick Note" and figured I'd give it a go because it was a 22 minute comedy series and this is about as much time as I am going to dedicate to a show when I am preparing to go to sleep.

The show itself is pretty decent but there is one thing that is absolutely terrible in every episode and that is Don Johnson's character.


image.png
src

I will admit that Don is looking pretty damn good when you consider that he is 72 years old and probably has done quite a few drugs in his lifetime. He also doesn't look like a lizard so I don't even think that he has had a bunch of plastic surgery either. Ah, one of the many benefits of being a man.

It's great being good-looking and all but there is one thing that time has not done for Don Johnson, he is an absolutely atrocious actor. In this series, he is probably the biggest name in the whole thing except for maybe Ron Weasley AKA Rupert Grint.


image.png
src

Every scene that Don Johnson is in he is meant to be the jerk boss of a scammy insurance company but what he really comes across as is someone who didn't study their lines and has no idea how to appear to be human on screen.

It is really surprising to me that of all the people that are in this show, most of which I have never heard of, they are ALL far better actors than Johnson is.

If you get a chance go and peek at an episode or two of this show because especially if you had Don Johnson as part of your childhood, you will probably find his complete lack of acting ability to be quite amusing.

Sort:  

Other than "Django" and "Tin Cup" I can't really even think of any movies that he has been in.

He was in Knives Out as one of the family members, he was pretty decent in that movie. The only other movie I remember seeing him in that I liked him in was Cold in July, where he has a smaller role.

I just remembered "Harley Davidson and the Marlboro Man" I think he was in that too. Never heard of "Cold in July" maybe I'll look that up and see if he doesn't suck in it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59737.47
ETH 3186.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43