Of winners and losers: Who truly wins at the end of the day

in #musings7 years ago

chess-1483735_960_720.jpg
Growing up, there was a simple formula to be a true winner, all you had to do was go to school, depend on your good grades to land you that dream job, but now that there's no job, what do you do?

Do not get me wrong, education is essential, but get this, education is not all about what you acquire on paper, it is also about what you display for the world to see. We are the product we define to others.
Let us take the tertiary institutions as a case study, there's always an opinion poll favoring certain individuals to be successful while it is believed that others won't be successful, based on reasons I cannot fathom.

Of course in recent times, if we put a first class graduate in an average Nigerian institution and someone with a second class lower division, don't be shocked if the second class lower division graduate will exhibit better survival skills in the real world than the first class graduate. The reason is because in most Nigerian institutions, the system favors those who mainly cram.

achieve-1822503_960_720.jpg
I have a hard time cramming and I am blessed with a photographic memory (or what's left of it), so assimilation is not a big deal for me. However, if you don't really know me, you would be inclined to assume that I cram.
The odds for success were never really in my favor in the eyes of others because as an individual, I prefer to keep my ideas and plan in my head until the appropriate time and as such I wield the element of surprise.

I always knew I never wanted a government 7am-7pm job(no insult), but the truth is I realized while you were subjected to modern day slavery, not being able to express your ideas freely, you were also working more hours for less. An average government who started off earning 500 dollars back then and earned 1,500 dollars right now, even after years of promotion, was still stuck in a ladder of climbing up while facing down.

I had a clear vision of retire young, retire early, spend enough time with my wife and family and change the world. The government work was not going to do that. I live in a country where jobs are even created to make a political statement, for political gains and other reasons. I live in a place where you have to understand that no one cares about you genuinely first of all. To survive, you have to thrive and to thrive, you have to use your head and embrace entrepreneurial abilities.

The truth is everyone is born with a unique gift that makes you a winner, but it is one thing to know you have a gift (very hard), it is now another matter entirely to isolate and apply your gifts where needed.
The real winner is not decided in a classroom, for crying out loud, half the stuff I was taught in school are not applicable in my life, I am sure a lot of people can attest to that fact.

This is not to downgrade education, it is a wake up call to those who feel they have triumphed simply because of classroom grades, this is for those who feel others can't make it because they have said so.
Education ought to give us a boost in real life but that depends on the kind of education you have.

It is one thing to attend a higher institution of learning, it is another thing for it to really instill values in you.

Everyone is a winner if you don't look down on yourself.



You can follow me on twitter by clicking the icon



Thanks to @camzy/ @samstickkz and @elyaque for the animated art and badge
Support @curie, @ausbitbank, @teamsteem, @xeldal, @steemgigs for witness

You can help me boost my curation activities by following my curation trail on steemauto.com ( @ehiboss)

Images from pixabay


lion badge.png

Sort:  

Very straight,simple,concise and onpoint....you spoke my mind bro....you gotta look 4 that special and unique gift inside of u to get to the top around this part of the world because the best helper you can get around is YOU...

So true, i totally agree with you, winning is a mindset it first begins with you knowing you are a winner

Deep words...true facts. Education and being educated are not the same thing. One can go to school, but a street boy/hustler would end up being smarter than the educated one.

Sincerely, I enjoyed reading this. Thanks for sharing @ehiboss

#Resteemed

Now that I think of all the Xs and Ys, never heard them once since I left school, but do we understand that people are built differently, some people want the 7-7, and lack ability to see the entrepreneurial side of things..I was like that, still have bits of that trait...

Am inlove with this post,it has alot of insight and is so true.....Life and the universe is governed by principles and our mind,we can also change our world with what we attract....Lets imply the law of attraction in our life,it has no regrets.Will be writing deeply on law of attraction on my blog;get motivated....Thumbs up for this post boss.

Nice post boss... True more than half the stuff we are taught in school are not applicable .we hv to discover our passions and develop a path for ourselves ..if only more parents could understand this fact.
Thanks bro truly everyone is a winner.

Wow! You hit the nail on its head. A host number of factors and characteristics or traits determine how far we can go eventually. Thanks a lot for sharing.

So true..I agree with you. One is first a winner in his heart and mind, though education is a factor but not an assurance. Its you and your mindset that's the determining factor.. So Keep Winning. Thanks

wow, just my though, for what shall it profit a man to pass through the higher institution without the institution passing through him? also thanks for the motivational words

Humm, sure to get motivations from your write.
Thanks boss

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59181.56
ETH 2521.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47