Mid-Week Musings: Staying Motivated

in #musings7 years ago

I am in a busy season at work. I have been grinding hard for the last month, and there are a few weeks left until the craziness starts to subside.

Aside from the toll that long hours can take on your mental and physical strength, I also have to exert energy just figuring out what absolutely has to be done from a prioritization standpoint, and what might be able to wait. I also tend to get frustrated when unexpected things come up or things that turn into time wasters and sap my ability to get things done, which I try not to take out on my staff/co-workers, but that I am sure people can sense when dealing with me.

During these times, I do my best to stay motivated in order to increase my work output. The main thing that keeps me motivated is my family. I do feel bad for my reduced presence when I am slammed, but, thankfully, I have an understanding and supportive wife. I savor the time I do get to spend with my family even more when I am busy.

7E831EA6-381C-443A-8096-DD54CFF725D0.png

I also stay motivated by looking forward to fun activities or vacations. Music can help get me pumped up as well. Finding time for small breaks to do things I like – such as perusing Steemit, writing a blog post, having a cup of coffee, talking sports over lunch – can also keep me pressing on.

I do enjoy my work, so that help as well. I am interested to hear how others stay motivated during a busy season in life – what are your strategies?

Brian

Sort:  

All the while getting a steemit post in each day, sounds like a real grind!

Seems like your son is very motivated as well to help you. How old is he? I would like to know his name too 😊

When you work hard, and its visible for others as well, it will give you Freedom. That Freedom could be used n moments you need to relax. Creating your own time for other things then work.

Actually you should see things differently and think that there are people who spend more adversity than your brother, I always stop to read your posts where I see that you have a nice family and a good life so that's good, so simply everything happens constantly and if you try hard you will get what you want and I made a post.

Also what I do is doing exercises to de-stress and forget everything or just listening to this is my extreme level to see things that happen and arise, I hope you liked my advice brother.
@calitoo

your post really educative of motivation.i am agree with your opinion. A family is helpful when we are in bad times. When our mind is very bad, our family member doing to inspired of our work.your son really very cute.he always keeps of your mind happy.thanks to sharing of your good article post.. @brian.rrr

Man I feel you. The truth is, I just grind. The best way out of hell is through. HAHA. But family is #1 for me also. Being able to involve my family in my hobbies has been a blessing.

To stay motivated when I'm in a project, I try to have a little time to plant some plants in the garden, it's relaxing. I really like gardening, help with motivation and the environment.

I like how your son has the safety glasses out, but he's not using them. :)

I try to prioritze the things that need to get done first. I also throw some easier tasks in there so even if they aren't important, I can feel like I'm getting something done. There's a good feeling in getting to cross something off your to-do list.

For now I do not have a strategy, work away from home I must travel every day I have approximaba 13 hours on the street which are 9 work and 4 way are sometimes a little more depends on how this road with the traffic I have reached spend more than 13 hours that is from Monday to Friday even if I do not have children yet because I do not have much time for me on weekends I go shopping for the house and that at the moment I have stopped cooking studies because if not only I will stay on Sundays but the routine exhausts a lot I like that you can have your time and stay motivated that's the idea but you have to know how to do it I think I still can not find the way

Jacob looks very nice builder does it well, I think not drowning in work is paramount for the family there are times where you need to be more at work but in the same way you must create a balance but very little happens to me yesterday I am a teacher and here in my country there are teachers for the mornings and others for the afternoon shift I work for the morning shift so I have all afternoon and weekends to be at home with my daughter very little we work in the afternoon unless they indicate some extra activity but for the rest I am always at home @brian.rrr

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 63352.53
ETH 2447.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67