Sort:  

I used to have this problem some time ago. The thing was that I never thought it was wrong. I saw it as saving for the rainy days.

I remember vividly how people would call me names and gossip about me secretly because I never liked giving. Now, I look back and smile when I remember the names they had conjured and cooked up for me. I heard words like 'stingo' and 'arkagon' used for me. Now, it's all past.

I will tell you what I did which I think might help you.

First, I had to consider, 'where these people saying the truth or were they trying to spite me?'

You have to be honest with yourself about your attitude. I began to watch others and see how you they reacted when it came to releasing what was theirs to give. I was shocked how people didn't think much about it before giving out. I began to see how different I was.

Another thing I considered was that they could not all be lying about me. If more than three persons had same report about me, then, there ought to be a measure of truth in their words.

Also, I began evaluating if I actually needed to hold everything back. I began paying attention to words like 'Givers never lack'. That statement is very true. I can tell you that without any iota of doubt. I began to derive pleasure in giving. The truth is that when you start giving, you open up rooms for more to come.

I had to start looking at others and realizing they actually need some of the things I have more than I eventually needed them. I began to feel happy. There's true happiness and a feeling of satisfaction in seeing others pleased.

I hardly regret giving these days because it somehow always come back to me.

The liberal soul is ALWAYS made fat.

Some Tips for Eliminating the Selfishness That Exists in Us:

- Don't like to compare yourself with others. Indeed comparing yourself with others is sometimes necessary, but must be appropriate, and not excessive and must be in place.

- Always Positive thinking to others, don't let negative thoughts enter your mind. don't have negative thoughts because what others do and think is not always bad.

- Develop your empathy for others. always care about other important people.

- Patient. the meaning of course here you have to be more patient with it. I don't think I need to explain this, because I'm sure you can imagine what will happen if you are impatient.

- Become a Mirror for him, The point here is, you try to be an example for himself. When you often fulfill his request, occasionally try to ask him so he wants to fulfill your request too.

- Give Criticism and suggestions, Like a wise person says, "A true friend is someone who is not always in line with you". When you feel his actions are wrong, then you as a friend must immediately remind him. Therefore, when you get the right time, give him criticism and suggestions that there is something you don't like.

- Develop an attitude of serving and prioritizing the interests of others, always giving whatever we can without being asked, that's extraordinary.

Simply be more considerate and thoughtful towards others rather than oneself.

How to Eliminate Selfishness

1. Find Out the Causes

One way to get rid of selfishness, you must first know the cause. Think about you, where the source of your selfishness appears. Selfishness can be implemented from a young age, for example when you were little you were never scolded even though you made a mistake, so you never felt that what you were doing was wrong.

There is also a new selfishness when it is big. Like when you don't want to lose during the race, you want to always be first place in class, fear of defeat and setbacks, and lack of empathy in someone. After you know the source of your selfish nature, eliminating it will become easier.

2. Accept Criticism

It feels like everyone won't like being criticized, isn't that right? But, you must be able to accept criticism, because criticism is the result of seeing from others for you in order to help make yourself a better person.

Selfish people usually like to feel the most righteous themselves. So, when there are people who criticize, usually selfish people like deny and the end becomes emotional. Although it may sound annoying, you must be able to accept other people's talk about you. Who knows that criticism can build you, right?

3. Introspection

The next way to get rid of selfishness is self-introspection. After finding out the causes of selfishness and hearing other people's opinions about you, now is the right time for you to be introspective. If you are reading this article, then you realize that something is not right with you, right?

When you are alone, reflect on your attitude so far, whether you have done justice, whether you have been kind to others, and so on. In this way, you can become a better person slowly.

4. Separate Desires and Needs

The next way to eliminate selfishness is to categorize what you want and which you need. Selfish people naturally think more about desires, not needs. Want to take precedence, want to have this item, want to be the center of attention, and other wants.

Now you have to focus on what you need. Do you really need that position, do you need to sit in a particular chair when you want to watch in the cinema, ask questions like this in your heart.

5. Think Before Acting

The way to eliminate selfishness this time is to think before doing an action. This is closely related to one's maturity. By sorting out actions before they are done, your selfishness will be controlled too.

6. Change the Mindset

Try to imagine, what it's like if you become someone else who is affected by your selfishness. For example, when you are speeding on the road because you want to get home quickly. But, you don't pay attention to the road properly, so your attitude can harm other road users.

This method can change your mindset that was selfish so you can be calmer and more grateful for what you have.

7. Self-restraining exercises

Train yourself to be patient. Selfish people usually always feel important. Being the first in line, being number one in the office, became the center of attention of people, and so on. Now, change your childish mindset like that. Give others the opportunity to shine and get their rights too

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65805.01
ETH 3514.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47