Sort:  

I suppose like in most things, time will tell. From what I'm reading, it sounds like the Blockchain Alliance has a good start. I'm not sure if I'm all that thrilled with the involvement of regulatory agencies in this alliance with law enforcement and industry leaders, but I think something should exist to help fight any kind of criminal activity.

I know that the blockchain is supposed to provide freedom for many activities, but I would hope that criminality would not be one of them. And I'm not talking about difference of opinion that causes one dictator to banish, imprison or execute dissenters, while another welcomes it with open arms. I'm talking about the types of criminal activity that most people will agree should be stopped.

That said, I'm aware that cryptocurrency gets its fair share of bad publicity because of the potentiality of some terrorist or criminal organization using Bitcoin or some other alt coin to finance its endeavors. However, those types of transactions can be followed, even though it could take some digging due to anonymity.

At any rate, if this alliance can keep to its mandate to actually curb criminality, instead of going after law abiding citizens for political or social reasons, there might be something to it. My experience with such alliances, however, is they either prove to be too unwieldy, without proper jurisdiction or power, and thus ineffective at best, or at worst, they overstep their bounds and cause a whole different set of problems to manifest.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69500.15
ETH 3394.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75