Sort:  

WOW, thank you so much for very detailed answer @hashcash

i think i will love the point number 4 coz i feel this platform is very light.

for point number 3, is that curation decision from manual checking?

thank you so much @masudi1234

i still wondering how the filtering system in this platform. if it's manual, i am sure a lot of peoples will come after musing.io got 1m SP delegation.

Personally I think it is making racism worse and the hatred between the races will escalate even more. I see it every day and it is not healthy for society in general.

I definitely agree with this. But you might also be ignoring the fact that there really is, or at any rate there was, a situation where the minorities really were getting overlooked even though they had the skills.

Sadly though, like you said, now affirmative action in its current implement might even be making things worse.

Thanks for sharing your insights.

Cheers.

I fully agree that people were discriminated against and it was blatant and so obvious. The problem is that two wrongs don't make a right and there needs to be a balance.
The problem is certain jobs you have to go with qualifications. Airline pilots used to have to be good at mathematics for instance. It is insulting as they have now lowered the standards required for that job. I for one won't fly with that air line ever again as how safe are they now. I want the best pilot possible to fly the plane I am on.

The problem is that two wrongs don't make a right and there needs to be a balance.

True! I absolutely agree. As @aussieninja mentioned in one of our exchanges on this thread (you can check it out if you like) perhaps the greatest option would be to make decisions based on some more pragmatic metric that would ensure efficiency while also making way for a more natural diversity.

Cheers buddy and thanks for your comments!!

I personally think it's really important, even if it's often poorly implemented.

Exactly. I've always felt it to be bullshit really, or at least I've always understood there's a latent tendency in it of turning out a huge bullshit.

Recently I came across this rather tedious article from the New Yorker that convinced me of its capability for gross bulllshitedness! and I just had to know what people's thoughts on it are.

Thanks for your answer. Cheers XD.

Ugh... sorry dude, I just couldn't get through that article... it's interesting, but so super dry.

Personally, I'm hoping that companies start to approach hiring similar to the trend-setting companies like Nike. They don't try and hire based on qualifications and education, but more personality and energy and if they're a good fit. I don't really know how they quantify it, but I like the idea a lot.

I've worked with heaps of people who have great resumes, but are just cranky, lethargic or uninterested... and are just useless.... meanwhile more enthusiastic but less qualified people don't even get an interview. The whole 'years of experience' measurement needs to go.... and I think that approach will naturally create diversity in the workplace.

I just couldn't get through that article... it's interesting, but so super dry.

haha...ikr!! Takes a lot of coffee and curiosity to get past the first section alone, I tell ya!

but more personality and energy and if they're a good fit...I've worked with heaps of people who have great resumes, but are just cranky, lethargic or uninterested... and are just useless...

Definitely! There's definitely a lot of archaic and outdated metrics that don't even apply anymore out there. I mean what are "qualifications" anyway, the paper kind--it's all a mere stimulation if you ask me. I hundred percent agree with hiring based on drive and energy! The obvious problem, of course, would be how to quantify that, but those stuffs are definitely harder to falsify and ring truer in the end than these "qualifications".

approach will naturally create diversity.

Yes! Yes! That's what I'm looking for! Thanks for this, buddy. This is the main problem with affirmative action--the diversity it tries to create is false at best, and as such will always be exploited and skewed and fickle.

Thanks for your comment bro. Really edifying. Appreciate it. Cheers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66541.28
ETH 3559.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.05