You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Musing Posts

If I could turn back the hand of time, I wouldn't have studied anything in the line of science. Science is beautiful with it's everyday discoveries but I would have been an art student and studied mass communication.

Growing up,I've always had this passion to be in the media world. Communication fascinated me very much. I had imagined myself in the television, casting news and hosting a program. I saw myself attending interviews and being interviewed too. It was my dream. Every evening, I would sit in front of the television and listened to the news, taking notes of specific details. Thereafter, I would go to the front of the house to recap same news to my play mates and to the adults in the house. A lot of time, I got shunned at by the adults who insisted that I was disturbing them.

Few years later,I found myself in senior secondary school and at the cross road of decision. I would have followed my heart but hell no. Why should I when all my friends wanted to study medicine or at least be in the medical line? Besides this, there was this misconceptions then that science students are most intelligent in class meanwhile in the real world every one had it's place. I was so confused even after the classes were splited between science and art. Today I'm in art class, tomorrow I'm in sciences. I couldn't continue that way because exams were fast approaching and classes were clashing.

I sought guidance from an older uncle who told me to choose the area I did better. Truth is, I did better at both science and art. Well above average. I really was stuck but eventually I had to follow the path of science. It took me six years before I could get admitted into a university to study fisheries due to Nigeria factor. I think it wouldn't have taken so long if I had followed the path of my passion.

During my service year, i had opportunity to work with a radio station. It was everything to me. It was an opportunity for me to live life doing what I had always wanted to do. I had to put everything into it; my time, efforts and consistency cos that was where I wanted to be.

Till date, I still have my regrets and currently I'm thinking of taking a diploma course in mass communication. If given another chance, I'd pursue my passion.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61869.35
ETH 2414.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63