Sort:  

For me, the saddest scene in a TV series is Billy's death in Ally MacBeal

I consider this one of the saddest scenes in a TV series because prior to the character Billy's death, I believed that he and the lead character, Ally MacBeal have always been in love with each other. However, because of circumstances (separate colleges, Billy getting married, then going through a mid-life crisis where he becomes a class-A jerk) they never really got together. 

Then, in his final scene, as he was giving a closing argument in court, which turned into a profound declaration of love (finally) for Ally, out of the blue, he just collapsed and died in her arms. But to make matters worse, Ally had to meet with Billy's ex-wife and her friend, Georgia, where repeats Billy's love declaration, but this time, telling it as if it was meant for Georgia, and not her. 

So, imagine being in love with one person, reconciling with yourself you will never be together, and then finally hearing how the other person feels the same way about you, only to have it taken away in the blink of an eye. And, as if that wan't enough to break your heart, you have to crush it further by giving away your final moments with the person to someone else. I just thought this was one of the most heartbreaking scenes in television.

I don't watch a lot of TV, so here are some sad scenes from movies that I can always remember.

  • Forrest Gump - Forrest talks to Jenny at her grave, especially at the end of this scene when a flock of birds started flying away. This was exactly what Jenny wished for when she was a child with Forrest, to become a bird.

  • Castaway - Wilson the volley ball had kept Chuck sane for the past 4 years, and when Wilson drifts away in the calm wave, Chuck was powerless to get it back.

  • Pursuit of happyness - When Chris Gardner and his son had to spend the night in the Metro's toilet because they had no money for a proper motel.

  • Rocky Balboa - Rocky went to Paulie and confessed to him about the beast inside him.

PS: Sorry about the youtube links, just realised Musing doesn't embed them. But you can click on them to go youtube and watch the actual clips. All videos at youtube are licensed under Youtube Standard License.

I am a big Anime Lover and it just makes sense that the saddest scene I probably have watched  was Going Merry's Funeral (One Piece).

Going Merry was the name of the Straw Hat Pirates first ship and was with them from Episode 17 to Episode 312. That's 295 Episodes right there. I still honestly don't know what happened but it just made me teary-eyed to see them saying their goodbyes to this inanimate character in the series. Probably after watching One Piece over and over again (at least 3 times prior to that scene) I somehow got attached to all of them, including their ship.


A close second and probably the first ever scene that made me cry (or at least teary-eyed) was Butterfree leaving Ash because of damn Love!. It literally broke my heart to see Ash's first ever caught pokemon in the wild leave him for some pokemon he just met. 


Here are my top saddest scenes of all times:

1. The Green Mile:

John Coffey's execution scene

2. Cast Away: 

Chuck loses Wilson to the sea

3. The Hobbit: The battle of the five armies 

Kili's death and aftermath for Tauriel

4. The Lion King 

The death of Mufasa and young Simba's grief over it

5. Harry Potter and The Half Blood Prince  

Dumbledore's death

6. Terminator 2: Judgement Day 

John and Sarah Connor have to say goodbye to T-800 

7. Titanic 

Jack's Death, Rose's grief, Passengers preparing themselves and their families to die.

These are all off the top of my head. I am pretty sure there would be tons of others.




I am an anime lover so if someone would ask me what is the saddest scene I have ever watch in an anime, I probably would answer the funeral of Going Merry in One Piece


This scene literally make my tears flowing in my eyes.

Another one would be on Hunter X Hunter when Gon find out that Kite as dead


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66914.48
ETH 3341.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72