You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Musing Posts

in #musing-threads6 years ago

Well I happened to board a plane going from Lagos to Abuja both of which are in Nigeria and everything was going fine. The plane took off without any delay and we didn't have any complications. About 30 minutes into the flight, I kept seeing the air hostesses going to the pilots cabin and coming out with a sort of distraught look.

I didn't think much of it, I just felt like the pilot upset them or something. Now the flight is supposed to be about 45 minutes and it was well over 50 minutes, so people started complaining. As if on queue, the pilot came on the Comms and announced that the plane was having "technical" difficulties and that they couldn't land for the time being.

At that point my heart sank, I was scared out of my mind and I felt like this was where it was all going to end for me, death by plane crash. To make matters worse, the lady beside me was panicking and crying so much that I had to excuse myself and head for the toilet. Now the toiled door was pretty close to where the air hostesses stayed so I could hear them talking. One of them was basically crying about how the pilot told her that he doesn't know what to do because the plain was running low on file and the landing gear wasn't deploying.

I basically died inside at that point, grief stricken I just went back to my seat and started sobbing. After about 10 more minutes in the air, the pilot came on Comms and announced that we'd be landing straight away, the landing gear had finally deployed.

Till date, I haven't entered a plane again because of how terrified I am now of flying.

Sort:  

oh dear. That was a terrible experience. Thanks to god, you all landed safely.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59568.13
ETH 2951.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55